We cast a shadow: a novel
(Book)

Book Cover
Average Rating
Published:
New York : One World, [2019].
Physical Desc:
324 pages ; 25 cm.
Status:
Tallyn's Reach Fiction
Ruffin, M.
Description

"In a near-future Southern city, everyone is talking about a new experimental medical procedure that boasts unprecedented success rates. In a society plagued by racism, segregation, and private prisons, this operation saves lives with a controversial method--by turning people white. Like any father, our unnamed narrator just wants the best for his son Nigel, a biracial boy whose black birthmark is getting bigger by the day. But in order to afford Nigel's whiteness operation, our narrator must make partner as one of the few black associates at his law firm, jumping through a series of increasingly absurd hoops--from diversity committees to plantation tours to equality activist groups--in a tragicomic quest to protect his son. This electrifying, suspenseful novel is, at once, a razor-sharp satire of surviving racism in America and a profoundly moving family story. In the tradition of Ralph Ellison's Invisible Man, We Cast a Shadow fearlessly shines a light on the violence we inherit, and on the desperate things we do for the ones we love"--

Also in This Series
Copies
Location
Call Number
Status
Last Check-In
Tallyn's Reach Fiction
Ruffin, M.
Available
Sep 13, 2020
More Like This
Other Editions and Formats
More Copies In Prospector
Loading Prospector Copies...
More Details
Format:
Book
Edition:
First edition.
Language:
English
ISBN:
9780525509066 (hardback)

Notes

Description
"In a near-future Southern city, everyone is talking about a new experimental medical procedure that boasts unprecedented success rates. In a society plagued by racism, segregation, and private prisons, this operation saves lives with a controversial method--by turning people white. Like any father, our unnamed narrator just wants the best for his son Nigel, a biracial boy whose black birthmark is getting bigger by the day. But in order to afford Nigel's whiteness operation, our narrator must make partner as one of the few black associates at his law firm, jumping through a series of increasingly absurd hoops--from diversity committees to plantation tours to equality activist groups--in a tragicomic quest to protect his son. This electrifying, suspenseful novel is, at once, a razor-sharp satire of surviving racism in America and a profoundly moving family story. In the tradition of Ralph Ellison's Invisible Man, We Cast a Shadow fearlessly shines a light on the violence we inherit, and on the desperate things we do for the ones we love"--,Provided by publisher.
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Citations
APA Citation (style guide)

Ruffin, M. C. (2019). We cast a shadow: a novel. First edition. New York, One World.

Chicago / Turabian - Author Date Citation (style guide)

Ruffin, Maurice Carlos. 2019. We Cast a Shadow: A Novel. New York, One World.

Chicago / Turabian - Humanities Citation (style guide)

Ruffin, Maurice Carlos, We Cast a Shadow: A Novel. New York, One World, 2019.

MLA Citation (style guide)

Ruffin, Maurice Carlos. We Cast a Shadow: A Novel. First edition. New York, One World, 2019.

Note! Citation formats are based on standards as of July 2022. Citations contain only title, author, edition, publisher, and year published. Citations should be used as a guideline and should be double checked for accuracy.
Staff View
Grouped Work ID:
df49cfc0-db15-c7cb-38ee-78fe4099d2df
Go To GroupedWork

Record Information

Last Sierra Extract TimeJan 25, 2023 03:21:28 PM
Last File Modification TimeJan 26, 2023 04:00:23 AM
Last Grouped Work Modification TimeJan 30, 2023 03:40:39 AM

MARC Record

LEADER02477pam a2200349 i 4500
001on2018021024
003DLC
00520190124132745.0
008180511s2019    nyu           000 1 eng  
010 |a 2018021024
020 |a 9780525509066 (hardback)
040 |a DLC|b eng|e rda|c DLC|d NjBwBT|d COB
042 |a pcc
049 |a COBA
092 |a Ruffin,|b M.
1001 |a Ruffin, Maurice Carlos,|e author.
24510|a We cast a shadow :|b a novel /|c Maurice Carlos Ruffin.
250 |a First edition.
264 1|a New York :|b One World,|c [2019]
300 |a 324 pages ;|c 25 cm.
336 |a text|b txt|2 rdacontent.
337 |a unmediated|b n|2 rdamedia.
338 |a volume|b nc|2 rdacarrier.
520 |a "In a near-future Southern city, everyone is talking about a new experimental medical procedure that boasts unprecedented success rates. In a society plagued by racism, segregation, and private prisons, this operation saves lives with a controversial method--by turning people white. Like any father, our unnamed narrator just wants the best for his son Nigel, a biracial boy whose black birthmark is getting bigger by the day. But in order to afford Nigel's whiteness operation, our narrator must make partner as one of the few black associates at his law firm, jumping through a series of increasingly absurd hoops--from diversity committees to plantation tours to equality activist groups--in a tragicomic quest to protect his son. This electrifying, suspenseful novel is, at once, a razor-sharp satire of surviving racism in America and a profoundly moving family story. In the tradition of Ralph Ellison's Invisible Man, We Cast a Shadow fearlessly shines a light on the violence we inherit, and on the desperate things we do for the ones we love"--|c Provided by publisher.
650 0|a African Americans|v Fiction.
690 |a Diverse Voices.
690 |a Black Authors.
907 |a .b18581687|b 230125|c 181203
998 |a (2)cen|a mvl|a mlk|a (2)tlr|b  |c m|d a |e -|f eng|g nyu|h 0
945 |d 07-22-2019 13:58|e 190405|f 100|g 0|h 100|i 31277019154647|j 190812|k 03-23-2019 13:07|l cenfi|o -|p $37.00|q  |r -|s n |t 0|u 3|v 0|w 0|x 0|y .i24398743|z 190206
945 |d 08-26-2021 13:06|e 191017|f 120|g 0|h 830|i 31277019154654|j 211230|k 10-17-2019 10:25|l mlkfi|o -|p $37.00|q  |r -|s n |t 0|u 3|v 6|w 1|x 0|y .i24398755|z 190206
945 |d  - - |e 200914|f 119|g 0|h 830|i 31277019154639|j  |k 08-12-2020 16:52|l tlrfi|o -|p $37.00|q  |r -|s - |t 0|u 7|v 3|w 0|x 4|y .i24398731|z 190206