Dead letters: a novel
(Book)

Book Cover
Average Rating
Published:
New York : Random House, [2017].
Physical Desc:
332 pages ; 24 cm.
Status:
Central
MF Dolan-Leach, C.
MLK
MF Dolan-Leach, C.
Mission Viejo
MF Dolan-Leach, C.
Description

A missing woman leads her twin sister on a twisted scavenger hunt in this clever debut novel of suspense for readers of Luckiest Girl Alive and Reconstructing Amelia . "Ahoy, Ava! Welcome home, my sweet jet-setting twin! So glad you were able to wrest yourself away from your dazzling life in the City of Light; I hope my 'death' hasn't interrupted anything too crucial." Ava Antipova has her reasons for running away: a failing family vineyard, a romantic betrayal, a mercurial sister, an absent father, a mother slipping into dementia. In Paris, Ava renounces her terribly practical undergraduate degree, acquires a French boyfriend and a taste for much better wine, and erases her past. Two years later, she must return to upstate New York. Her twin sister, Zelda, is dead. Even in a family of alcoholics, Zelda Antipova was the wild one, notorious for her mind games and destructive behavior. Stuck tending the vineyard and the girls' increasingly unstable mother, Zelda was allegedly burned alive when she passed out in the barn with a lit cigarette. But Ava finds the official explanation a little too neat. A little too Zelda. Then she receives a cryptic message--from her sister. Just as Ava suspected, Zelda's playing one of her games. In fact, she's outdone herself, leaving a series of clues about her disappearance. With the police stuck on a red herring, Ava follows the trail laid just for her, thinking like her sister, keeping her secrets, immersing herself in Zelda's drama and her outlandish circle of friends and lovers. Along the way, Zelda forces her twin to confront their twisted history and the boy who broke Ava's heart. But why? Is Zelda trying to punish Ava for leaving? To teach her a lesson? Or is she simply trying to write her own ending? Featuring a colorful, raucous cast of characters, Caite Dolan-Leach's debut thriller takes readers on a literary scavenger hunt for clues concealed throughout the seemingly idyllic wine country, hidden in plain sight on social media, and buried at the heart of one tremendously dysfunctional, utterly unforgettable family.

Also in This Series
Copies
Location
Call Number
Status
Last Check-In
Central
MF Dolan-Leach, C.
Available
Nov 2, 2017
MLK
MF Dolan-Leach, C.
Available
Feb 14, 2020
Mission Viejo
MF Dolan-Leach, C.
Available
Dec 20, 2018
More Like This
Other Editions and Formats
More Copies In Prospector
Loading Prospector Copies...
More Details
Format:
Book
Edition:
First edition.
Street Date:
1703.
Language:
English
ISBN:
9780399588853, 039958885X

Notes

Description
A missing woman leads her twin sister on a twisted scavenger hunt in this clever debut novel of suspense for readers of Luckiest Girl Alive and Reconstructing Amelia . "Ahoy, Ava! Welcome home, my sweet jet-setting twin! So glad you were able to wrest yourself away from your dazzling life in the City of Light; I hope my 'death' hasn't interrupted anything too crucial." Ava Antipova has her reasons for running away: a failing family vineyard, a romantic betrayal, a mercurial sister, an absent father, a mother slipping into dementia. In Paris, Ava renounces her terribly practical undergraduate degree, acquires a French boyfriend and a taste for much better wine, and erases her past. Two years later, she must return to upstate New York. Her twin sister, Zelda, is dead. Even in a family of alcoholics, Zelda Antipova was the wild one, notorious for her mind games and destructive behavior. Stuck tending the vineyard and the girls' increasingly unstable mother, Zelda was allegedly burned alive when she passed out in the barn with a lit cigarette. But Ava finds the official explanation a little too neat. A little too Zelda. Then she receives a cryptic message--from her sister. Just as Ava suspected, Zelda's playing one of her games. In fact, she's outdone herself, leaving a series of clues about her disappearance. With the police stuck on a red herring, Ava follows the trail laid just for her, thinking like her sister, keeping her secrets, immersing herself in Zelda's drama and her outlandish circle of friends and lovers. Along the way, Zelda forces her twin to confront their twisted history and the boy who broke Ava's heart. But why? Is Zelda trying to punish Ava for leaving? To teach her a lesson? Or is she simply trying to write her own ending? Featuring a colorful, raucous cast of characters, Caite Dolan-Leach's debut thriller takes readers on a literary scavenger hunt for clues concealed throughout the seemingly idyllic wine country, hidden in plain sight on social media, and buried at the heart of one tremendously dysfunctional, utterly unforgettable family.
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Citations
APA Citation (style guide)

Dolan-Leach, C. (2017). Dead letters: a novel. First edition. New York: Random House.

Chicago / Turabian - Author Date Citation (style guide)

Dolan-Leach, Caite. 2017. Dead Letters: A Novel. New York: Random House.

Chicago / Turabian - Humanities Citation (style guide)

Dolan-Leach, Caite, Dead Letters: A Novel. New York: Random House, 2017.

MLA Citation (style guide)

Dolan-Leach, Caite. Dead Letters: A Novel. First edition. New York: Random House, 2017. Print.

Note! Citation formats are based on standards as of July 2010. Citations contain only title, author, edition, publisher, and year published. Citations should be used as a guideline and should be double checked for accuracy.
Staff View
Grouped Work ID:
0651accc-ace6-c0c0-c7d6-c1d2492b268e
Go To GroupedWork

Record Information

Last Sierra Extract TimeMar 03, 2020 03:14:02 AM
Last File Modification TimeSep 01, 2020 09:20:05 PM
Last Grouped Work Modification TimeOct 23, 2020 03:51:59 AM

MARC Record

LEADER03572cam a2200385 i 4500
001ocn951612210
003OCoLC
00520170209140715.0
008160610s2017    nyu           000 1 eng  
010 |a 2016019173
020 |a 9780399588853
020 |a 039958885X
035 |a (OCoLC)951612210
040 |a DLC|b eng|e rda|c DLC|d OCLCO|d BDX|d YDXCP|d BTCTA|d OCLCF|d ORX|d IEB|d COB
042 |a pcc
049 |a COBA
092 |e MF|a Dolan-Leach,|b C.
1001 |a Dolan-Leach, Caite,|e author.
24510|a Dead letters :|b a novel /|c Caite Dolan-Leach.
250 |a First edition.
263 |a 1703.
264 1|a New York :|b Random House,|c [2017]
300 |a 332 pages ;|c 24 cm.
336 |a text|2 rdacontent.
337 |a unmediated|2 rdamedia.
338 |a volume|2 rdacarrier.
520 |a A missing woman leads her twin sister on a twisted scavenger hunt in this clever debut novel of suspense for readers of Luckiest Girl Alive and Reconstructing Amelia . "Ahoy, Ava! Welcome home, my sweet jet-setting twin! So glad you were able to wrest yourself away from your dazzling life in the City of Light; I hope my 'death' hasn't interrupted anything too crucial." Ava Antipova has her reasons for running away: a failing family vineyard, a romantic betrayal, a mercurial sister, an absent father, a mother slipping into dementia. In Paris, Ava renounces her terribly practical undergraduate degree, acquires a French boyfriend and a taste for much better wine, and erases her past. Two years later, she must return to upstate New York. Her twin sister, Zelda, is dead. Even in a family of alcoholics, Zelda Antipova was the wild one, notorious for her mind games and destructive behavior. Stuck tending the vineyard and the girls' increasingly unstable mother, Zelda was allegedly burned alive when she passed out in the barn with a lit cigarette. But Ava finds the official explanation a little too neat. A little too Zelda. Then she receives a cryptic message--from her sister. Just as Ava suspected, Zelda's playing one of her games. In fact, she's outdone herself, leaving a series of clues about her disappearance. With the police stuck on a red herring, Ava follows the trail laid just for her, thinking like her sister, keeping her secrets, immersing herself in Zelda's drama and her outlandish circle of friends and lovers. Along the way, Zelda forces her twin to confront their twisted history and the boy who broke Ava's heart. But why? Is Zelda trying to punish Ava for leaving? To teach her a lesson? Or is she simply trying to write her own ending? Featuring a colorful, raucous cast of characters, Caite Dolan-Leach's debut thriller takes readers on a literary scavenger hunt for clues concealed throughout the seemingly idyllic wine country, hidden in plain sight on social media, and buried at the heart of one tremendously dysfunctional, utterly unforgettable family.
650 0|a Twin sisters|v Fiction.
650 0|a Secrets|v Fiction.
690 |a Mystery fiction.
907 |a .b18255437|b 200303|c 161212
998 |a (2)cen|a (2)mvl|a mlk|a tlr|b  |c m|d a |e -|f eng|g nyu|h 0
945 |d  - - |e 171102|f 100|g 0|h 700|i 31277018073095|j  |k 10-21-2017 11:23|l cenfi|o -|p $37.00|q  |r -|s - |t 0|u 4|v 2|w 0|x 0|y .i23676127|z 170228
945 |d  - - |e 181220|f 116|g 0|h 716|i 31277018073103|j  |k 11-30-2018 17:08|l mvlfi|o -|p $37.00|q  |r -|s - |t 0|u 11|v 0|w 0|x 0|y .i23676139|z 170228
945 |d  - - |e 200214|f 105|g 0|h 705|i 31277018073111|j  |k 02-05-2020 12:18|l mlkfi|o -|p $37.00|q  |r -|s - |t 0|u 6|v 3|w 1|x 0|y .i23676140|z 170228