The girls: a novel
(Book on CD)

Book Cover
Average Rating
Author:
Contributors:
Published:
New York, New York : Random House Audio :, [2016].
Physical Desc:
8 audio discs (approx.10 hr.) : digital, CD audio ; 4 3/4 in.
Status:
Central
COMPACT DISC Cline, E.
Description

Girls-- their vulnerability, strength, and passion to belong-- are at the heart of this stunning first novel for readers of Jeffrey Eugenides's The Virgin Suicides and Jennifer Egan's A Visit from the Goon Squad. Northern California, during the violent end of the 1960s. At the start of summer, a lonely and thoughtful teenager, Evie Boyd, sees a group of girls in the park, and is immediately caught by their freedom, their careless dress, their dangerous aura of abandon. Soon, Evie is enthralled by Suzanne, a mesmerizing older girl, and is drawn into the circle of a soon-to-be infamous cult and the man who is its charismatic leader. Hidden in the hills, their sprawling ranch is eerie and run down, but to Evie, it is exotic, thrilling, charged-- a place where she feels desperate to be accepted. As she spends more time away from her mother and the rhythms of her daily life, and as her obsession with Suzanne intensifies, Evie does not realize she is coming closer and closer to unthinkable violence, and to that moment in a girl's life when everything can go horribly wrong. Emma Cline's remarkable debut novel is gorgeously written and spellbinding, with razor-sharp precision and startling psychological insight. The Girls is a brilliant work of fiction-- and an indelible portrait of girls, and of the women they become.

Also in This Series
Copies
Location
Call Number
Status
Last Check-In
Central
COMPACT DISC Cline, E.
Available
Apr 4, 2019
More Like This
Other Editions and Formats
More Copies In Prospector
Loading Prospector Copies...
More Details
Format:
Book on CD
Edition:
Unabridged.
Language:
English
ISBN:
9780147523990, 0147523990

Notes

General Note
Compact discs.
Participants/Performers
Read by Cady McClain.
Description
Girls-- their vulnerability, strength, and passion to belong-- are at the heart of this stunning first novel for readers of Jeffrey Eugenides's The Virgin Suicides and Jennifer Egan's A Visit from the Goon Squad. Northern California, during the violent end of the 1960s. At the start of summer, a lonely and thoughtful teenager, Evie Boyd, sees a group of girls in the park, and is immediately caught by their freedom, their careless dress, their dangerous aura of abandon. Soon, Evie is enthralled by Suzanne, a mesmerizing older girl, and is drawn into the circle of a soon-to-be infamous cult and the man who is its charismatic leader. Hidden in the hills, their sprawling ranch is eerie and run down, but to Evie, it is exotic, thrilling, charged-- a place where she feels desperate to be accepted. As she spends more time away from her mother and the rhythms of her daily life, and as her obsession with Suzanne intensifies, Evie does not realize she is coming closer and closer to unthinkable violence, and to that moment in a girl's life when everything can go horribly wrong. Emma Cline's remarkable debut novel is gorgeously written and spellbinding, with razor-sharp precision and startling psychological insight. The Girls is a brilliant work of fiction-- and an indelible portrait of girls, and of the women they become.
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Citations
APA Citation (style guide)

Cline, E., & McClain, C. (2016). The girls: a novel. Unabridged. New York, New York: Random House Audio.

Chicago / Turabian - Author Date Citation (style guide)

Cline, Emma and Cady McClain. 2016. The Girls: A Novel. New York, New York: Random House Audio.

Chicago / Turabian - Humanities Citation (style guide)

Cline, Emma and Cady McClain, The Girls: A Novel. New York, New York: Random House Audio, 2016.

MLA Citation (style guide)

Cline, Emma,, and Cady McClain. The Girls: A Novel. Unabridged. New York, New York: Random House Audio, 2016.

Note! Citation formats are based on standards as of July 2010. Citations contain only title, author, edition, publisher, and year published. Citations should be used as a guideline and should be double checked for accuracy.
Staff View
Grouped Work ID:
87249f50-e06d-df2c-2bf8-b5faf7a3eaa7
Go To GroupedWork

Record Information

Last Sierra Extract TimeJan 04, 2021 04:30:25 PM
Last File Modification TimeJan 05, 2021 04:06:34 AM
Last Grouped Work Modification TimeMay 16, 2022 03:40:49 AM

MARC Record

LEADER03022cim a2200457Ii 4500
001sky281786412
003SKY
00520160718000000.0
007sd fungnnmmneu
008150930s2016    nyunnnn        f  n eng d
010 |a bl2016024147
020 |a 9780147523990|q (Random House Audio) :|c $40.00
020 |a 0147523990|q (Random House Audio)
040 |a BTCTA|b eng|c BTCTA|d BDX|d TEFBT|d OCLCO|d OCLCF|d OCLCO|d TEF|d ISL|d TEFBT|d OU9|d GK8|d OCLCO|e rda|d ZGR|d OCLCO|d ABG|d OCLCO|d BLACP|d OMN|d SKYRV
043 |a n-us-ca
049 |a COBA
099 |a COMPACT|a DISC|a Cline,|a E.
1001 |a Cline, Emma,|e author.
24514|a The girls :|b a novel /|c Emma Cline.
250 |a Unabridged.
264 1|a New York, New York :|b Random House Audio :|b Books on Tape,|c [2016]
264 4|c Â2016.
300 |a 8 audio discs (approx.10 hr.) :|b digital, CD audio ;|c 4 3/4 in.
306 |a 100000.
336 |a spoken word|b spw|2 rdacontent.
337 |a audio|b s|2 rdamedia.
338 |a audio disc|b sd|2 rdacarrier.
344 |a digital|b optical|2 rda.
347 |a audio file|b CD audio|2 rda.
500 |a Compact discs.
5110 |a Read by Cady McClain.
520 |a Girls-- their vulnerability, strength, and passion to belong-- are at the heart of this stunning first novel for readers of Jeffrey Eugenides's The Virgin Suicides and Jennifer Egan's A Visit from the Goon Squad. Northern California, during the violent end of the 1960s. At the start of summer, a lonely and thoughtful teenager, Evie Boyd, sees a group of girls in the park, and is immediately caught by their freedom, their careless dress, their dangerous aura of abandon. Soon, Evie is enthralled by Suzanne, a mesmerizing older girl, and is drawn into the circle of a soon-to-be infamous cult and the man who is its charismatic leader. Hidden in the hills, their sprawling ranch is eerie and run down, but to Evie, it is exotic, thrilling, charged-- a place where she feels desperate to be accepted. As she spends more time away from her mother and the rhythms of her daily life, and as her obsession with Suzanne intensifies, Evie does not realize she is coming closer and closer to unthinkable violence, and to that moment in a girl's life when everything can go horribly wrong. Emma Cline's remarkable debut novel is gorgeously written and spellbinding, with razor-sharp precision and startling psychological insight. The Girls is a brilliant work of fiction-- and an indelible portrait of girls, and of the women they become.
650 0|a Teenage girls|v Fiction.
650 0|a Nineteen sixties|v Fiction.
650 0|a Communal living|z California|v Fiction.
650 0|a Counterculture|v Fiction.
690 |a DIGITAL COMPACT DISC.
7001 |a McClain, Cady,|d 1969-|e narrator.
907 |a .b18123260|b 171119|c 160720
998 |a cen|b 160720|c m|d i |e -|f eng|g nyu|h 4
945 |d  - - |e 190404|f 100|g 0|h 100|i 31277015973073|j  |k 03-20-2019 14:17|l cenav|o -|p $44.00|q  |r  |s - |t 12|u 15|v 7|w 0|x 0|y .i23457545|z 160720