Sweetbitter: A Novel
(OverDrive MP3 Audiobook, OverDrive Listen)

Book Cover
Average Rating
Published:
Penguin Random House Audio Publishing Group 2016
Status:
Available from OverDrive
Description
INSTANT NATIONAL BESTSELLER * A thrilling novel of the senses and a coming-of-age tale, following a small-town girl into the electrifying world of New York City and the education of a lifetime at one of the most exclusive restaurants in Manhattan. Perfect for readers of Kitchen Confidential and Blood, Bones and Butter. Twenty-two, and knowing no one, Tess leaves home to begin her adult life in New York City. Thus begins a year that is both enchanting and punishing, in a low-level job at "the best restaurant in New York City." Grueling hours and a steep culinary learning curve awaken her to the beauty of oysters, the finest Champagnes, the appellations of Burgundy. At the same time, she opens herself to friendships—and love—set against the backdrop of dive bars and late nights. As her appetites sharpen—for food and wine, but also for knowledge, experience, and belonging—Tess is drawn into a darkly alluring love triangle that will prove to be her most exhilarating and painful lesson of all. Stephanie Danler deftly conjures the nonstop and purely adrenalized world of the restaurant—conversations interrupted, phrases overheard, and suggestions below the surface. Evoking the infinite possibility of being young in New York with heart-stopping accuracy, Sweetbitter is ultimately about the power of what remains after disillusionment, and the wisdom that comes from experience, sweet and bitter.From the Hardcover edition.
Also in This Series
Formats
No Copies Found
More Like This
Other Editions and Formats
More Copies In Prospector
Loading Prospector Copies...
More Details
Format:
OverDrive MP3 Audiobook, OverDrive Listen
Edition:
Unabridged
Street Date:
05/24/2016
Language:
English
ISBN:
9780399566318
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Citations
APA Citation (style guide)

Stephanie Danler. (2016). Sweetbitter: A Novel. Unabridged Penguin Random House Audio Publishing Group.

Chicago / Turabian - Author Date Citation (style guide)

Stephanie Danler. 2016. Sweetbitter: A Novel. Penguin Random House Audio Publishing Group.

Chicago / Turabian - Humanities Citation (style guide)

Stephanie Danler, Sweetbitter: A Novel. Penguin Random House Audio Publishing Group, 2016.

MLA Citation (style guide)

Stephanie Danler. Sweetbitter: A Novel. Unabridged Penguin Random House Audio Publishing Group, 2016.

Note! Citation formats are based on standards as of July 2010. Citations contain only title, author, edition, publisher, and year published. Citations should be used as a guideline and should be double checked for accuracy.
Copy Details
LibraryOwnedAvailable
Shared Digital Collection11
Staff View
Grouped Work ID:
5df4d944-6f5e-e07e-235b-fe7e1df08052
Go To Grouped Work
Needs Update?:
No
Date Added:
Mar 06, 2019 14:54:01
Date Updated:
Dec 06, 2020 03:53:43
Last Metadata Check:
Jan 21, 2021 23:24:34
Last Metadata Change:
Mar 23, 2020 17:46:14
Last Availability Check:
Jan 21, 2021 23:24:34
Last Availability Change:
Jan 21, 2021 23:24:34
Last Grouped Work Modification Time:
Jan 23, 2021 03:52:14

OverDrive Product Record

images
    • cover:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-100/1191-1/{E1649CFC-0486-4860-8C33-43A2994897FF}Img100.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
    • thumbnail:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-200/1191-1/{E1649CFC-0486-4860-8C33-43A2994897FF}Img200.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
    • cover150Wide:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-150/1191-1/E16/49C/FC/{E1649CFC-0486-4860-8C33-43A2994897FF}Img150.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
    • cover300Wide:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-400/1191-1/E16/49C/FC/{E1649CFC-0486-4860-8C33-43A2994897FF}Img400.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
formats
      • identifiers:
            • type: 8
            • value: penguinrandomhouse_audio#9780399566295
            • type: ISBN
            • value: 9780399566318
      • name: OverDrive MP3 Audiobook
      • id: audiobook-mp3
      • identifiers:
            • type: 8
            • value: penguinrandomhouse_audio#9780399566295
            • type: ISBN
            • value: 9780399566318
      • name: OverDrive Listen
      • id: audiobook-overdrive
mediaType
Audiobook
primaryCreator
    • role: Author
    • name: Stephanie Danler
title
Sweetbitter
dateAdded
2016-07-01T17:22:00-04:00
contentDetails
      • href: https://link.overdrive.com/?websiteID=670&titleID=2381179
      • type: text/html
      • account:
          • name: Aurora Public Library (CO)
          • id: 2536
sortTitle
Sweetbitter A Novel
crossRefId
2381179
subtitle
A Novel
id
e1649cfc-0486-4860-8c33-43a2994897ff
starRating
3

OverDrive MetaData

isPublicDomain
False
images
    • cover:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-100/1191-1/{E1649CFC-0486-4860-8C33-43A2994897FF}Img100.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
    • thumbnail:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-200/1191-1/{E1649CFC-0486-4860-8C33-43A2994897FF}Img200.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
    • cover150Wide:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-150/1191-1/E16/49C/FC/{E1649CFC-0486-4860-8C33-43A2994897FF}Img150.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
    • cover300Wide:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-400/1191-1/E16/49C/FC/{E1649CFC-0486-4860-8C33-43A2994897FF}Img400.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
isPublicPerformanceAllowed
False
formats
      • fileName: SweetbitterANovel-62123
      • partCount: 10
      • fileSize: 357692168
      • identifiers:
            • audience: retailer
            • type: 8
            • value: penguinrandomhouse_audio#9780399566295
            • audience: library
            • type: ISBN
            • value: 9780399566318
      • rights:
            • type: PlayOnPC
            • value: 1
            • type: PlayOnPCCount
            • value: -1
            • type: BurnToCD
            • value: 1
            • type: BurnToCDCount
            • value: -1
            • type: PlayOnPM
            • value: 1
            • type: TransferToSDMI
            • value: 1
            • type: TransferToNonSDMI
            • value: 1
            • type: TransferCount
            • value: -1
            • type: CollaborativePlay
            • value: 0
            • type: PublicPerformance
            • value: 0
            • type: TranscodeToAAC
            • value: 1
      • name: OverDrive MP3 Audiobook
      • id: audiobook-mp3
      • onSaleDate: 05/24/2016
      • samples:
            • source: Part 1
            • formatType: audiobook-mp3
            • url: https://excerpts.cdn.overdrive.com/FormatType-425/1191-1/2381179-Sweetbitter.mp3
            • source: From the book
            • formatType: audiobook-overdrive
            • url: https://samples.overdrive.com/?crid=e1649cfc-0486-4860-8c33-43a2994897ff&.epub-sample.overdrive.com
      • fileName: SweetbitterANovel-62123
      • partCount: 0
      • fileSize: 357443293
      • identifiers:
            • audience: retailer
            • type: 8
            • value: penguinrandomhouse_audio#9780399566295
            • audience: library
            • type: ISBN
            • value: 9780399566318
      • name: OverDrive Listen
      • id: audiobook-overdrive
      • onSaleDate: 05/24/2016
      • samples:
            • source: Part 1
            • formatType: audiobook-mp3
            • url: https://excerpts.cdn.overdrive.com/FormatType-425/1191-1/2381179-Sweetbitter.mp3
            • source: From the book
            • formatType: audiobook-overdrive
            • url: https://samples.overdrive.com/?crid=e1649cfc-0486-4860-8c33-43a2994897ff&.epub-sample.overdrive.com
languages
      • code: en
      • name: English
creators
      • role: Author
      • fileAs: Danler, Stephanie
      • bioText: STEPHANIE DANLER is a writer based in Brooklyn, New York. She holds an MFA in creative writing from the New School.
      • name: Stephanie Danler
      • role: Narrator
      • fileAs: McKenna, Alex
      • name: Alex McKenna
imprint
Random House Audio
subjects
      • value: Fiction
      • value: Literature
      • value: Romance
publishDate
2016-05-24T00:00:00-04:00
edition
Unabridged
publishDateText
05/24/2016
mediaType
Audiobook
shortDescription
INSTANT NATIONAL BESTSELLER * A thrilling novel of the senses and a coming-of-age tale, following a small-town girl into the electrifying world of New York City and the education of a lifetime at one of the most exclusive restaurants in Manhattan. Perfect for readers of Kitchen Confidential and Blood, Bones and Butter.
Twenty-two, and knowing no one, Tess leaves home to begin her adult life in New York City. Thus begins a year that is both enchanting and punishing, in a low-level job at "the best restaurant in New York City." Grueling hours and a steep culinary learning curve awaken her to the beauty of oysters, the finest Champagnes, the appellations of Burgundy. At the same time, she opens herself to friendships—and love—set against the backdrop of dive bars and late nights. As her appetites sharpen—for food and wine, but also for knowledge, experience, and belonging—Tess is drawn into a darkly alluring love triangle that will...
isOwnedByCollections
True
title
Sweetbitter
fullDescription
INSTANT NATIONAL BESTSELLER * A thrilling novel of the senses and a coming-of-age tale, following a small-town girl into the electrifying world of New York City and the education of a lifetime at one of the most exclusive restaurants in Manhattan. Perfect for readers of Kitchen Confidential and Blood, Bones and Butter.
Twenty-two, and knowing no one, Tess leaves home to begin her adult life in New York City. Thus begins a year that is both enchanting and punishing, in a low-level job at "the best restaurant in New York City." Grueling hours and a steep culinary learning curve awaken her to the beauty of oysters, the finest Champagnes, the appellations of Burgundy. At the same time, she opens herself to friendships—and love—set against the backdrop of dive bars and late nights. As her appetites sharpen—for food and wine, but also for knowledge, experience, and belonging—Tess is drawn into a darkly alluring love triangle that will prove to be her most exhilarating and painful lesson of all.

Stephanie Danler deftly conjures the nonstop and purely adrenalized world of the restaurant—conversations interrupted, phrases overheard, and suggestions below the surface. Evoking the infinite possibility of being young in New York with heart-stopping accuracy, Sweetbitter is ultimately about the power of what remains after disillusionment, and the wisdom that comes from experience, sweet and bitter.
From the Hardcover edition.
sortTitle
Sweetbitter A Novel
crossRefId
2381179
subtitle
A Novel
popularity
1651
publisher
Penguin Random House Audio Publishing Group
links
    • self:
        • href: https://api.overdrive.com/v1/collections/v1L1BQgIAAA2A/products/e1649cfc-0486-4860-8c33-43a2994897ff/metadata
        • type: application/vnd.overdrive.api+json
id
e1649cfc-0486-4860-8c33-43a2994897ff
starRating
3