White Space: Dark Passages Series, Book 1
(Adobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive Read)

Book Cover
Average Rating
Author:
Series:
Dark passages volume 1.
Published:
Lerner Publishing Group 2014
Accelerated Reader:
IL: UG - BL: 5.2 - AR Pts: 21
Lexile measure:
HL: High-Low 770L
Status:
Available from OverDrive
Description

In the tradition of Memento and Inception comes a thrilling and scary young adult novel about blurred reality where characters in a story find that a deadly and horrifying world exists in the space between the written lines.



Emma Lindsay has problems: no parents, a crazy guardian, and all those times when she blinks away, dropping into other lives so surreal it's as if the story of her life bleeds into theirs. But one thing Emma has never doubted is that she's real.



Then she writes "White Space," which turns out to be a dead ringer for part of an unfinished novel by a long-dead writer. In the novel, characters travel between different stories. When Emma blinks, she might be doing the same.



Before long, she's dropped into the very story she thought she'd written. Emma meets other kids like her. They discover that they may be nothing more than characters written into being for a very specific purpose. What they must uncover is why they've been brought to this place, before someone pens their end.

Also in This Series
Formats
No Copies Found
More Like This
Other Editions and Formats
More Copies In Prospector
Loading Prospector Copies...
More Details
Format:
Adobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive Read
Street Date:
01/01/2014
Language:
English
ISBN:
9781512404128
ASIN:
B01IPSGUSY
Accelerated Reader:
UG
Level 5.2, 21 Points
Lexile code:
HL: High-Low
Lexile measure:
770
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Citations
APA Citation (style guide)

Ilsa J. Bick. (2014). White Space: Dark Passages Series, Book 1. Lerner Publishing Group.

Chicago / Turabian - Author Date Citation (style guide)

Ilsa J. Bick. 2014. White Space: Dark Passages Series, Book 1. Lerner Publishing Group.

Chicago / Turabian - Humanities Citation (style guide)

Ilsa J. Bick, White Space: Dark Passages Series, Book 1. Lerner Publishing Group, 2014.

MLA Citation (style guide)

Ilsa J. Bick. White Space: Dark Passages Series, Book 1. Lerner Publishing Group, 2014. Web.

Note! Citation formats are based on standards as of July 2010. Citations contain only title, author, edition, publisher, and year published. Citations should be used as a guideline and should be double checked for accuracy.
Copy Details
LibraryOwnedAvailable
Shared Digital Collection11
Staff View
Grouped Work ID:
9d84f860-f9ea-5cbe-bf91-af16dc1c77a1
Go To Grouped Work
Needs Update?:
No
Date Added:
Mar 06, 2019 14:32:38
Date Updated:
Dec 06, 2020 03:53:16
Last Metadata Check:
Aug 01, 2021 03:55:36
Last Metadata Change:
Mar 10, 2021 07:43:17
Last Availability Check:
Aug 01, 2021 03:55:36
Last Availability Change:
Mar 06, 2019 14:32:38
Last Grouped Work Modification Time:
Aug 05, 2021 03:52:18

OverDrive Product Record

images
    • cover:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-100/0955-1/{0EDE145D-9C5F-42FB-B56E-C2EBB849CC71}Img100.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
    • thumbnail:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-200/0955-1/{0EDE145D-9C5F-42FB-B56E-C2EBB849CC71}Img200.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
    • cover150Wide:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-150/0955-1/0ED/E14/5D/{0EDE145D-9C5F-42FB-B56E-C2EBB849CC71}Img150.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
    • cover300Wide:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-400/0955-1/0ED/E14/5D/{0EDE145D-9C5F-42FB-B56E-C2EBB849CC71}Img400.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
formats
      • identifiers:
            • type: ISBN
            • value: 9781512404128
            • type: PublisherCatalogNumber
            • value: 222375
      • name: Adobe EPUB eBook
      • id: ebook-epub-adobe
      • identifiers:
            • type: ASIN
            • value: B01IPSGUSY
            • type: PublisherCatalogNumber
            • value: 222375
      • name: Kindle Book
      • id: ebook-kindle
      • identifiers:
            • type: ISBN
            • value: 9781512404128
            • type: PublisherCatalogNumber
            • value: 222375
      • name: OverDrive Read
      • id: ebook-overdrive
mediaType
eBook
primaryCreator
    • role: Author
    • name: Ilsa J. Bick
title
White Space
dateAdded
2014-02-25T13:49:00-05:00
contentDetails
      • href: https://link.overdrive.com/?websiteID=670&titleID=1381729
      • type: text/html
      • account:
          • name: Aurora Public Library (CO)
          • id: 2536
sortTitle
White Space Dark Passages Series Book 01
crossRefId
1381729
series
Dark Passages
subtitle
Dark Passages Series, Book 1
id
0ede145d-9c5f-42fb-b56e-c2ebb849cc71
starRating
2.7

OverDrive MetaData

interestLevel
UG
isPublicDomain
False
formats
      • fileName: WhiteSpaceBookOneoftheDarkPassages9781606844205
      • partCount: 0
      • fileSize: 2527968
      • identifiers:
            • type: ISBN
            • value: 9781512404128
            • type: PublisherCatalogNumber
            • value: 222375
      • rights:
            • type: Copying
            • value: 0
            • type: Printing
            • value: 0
            • type: Lending
            • value: 0
            • type: ReadAloud
            • value: 0
            • type: ExpirationRights
            • value: 0
      • name: Adobe EPUB eBook
      • id: ebook-epub-adobe
      • onSaleDate: 02/11/2014
      • samples:
            • source: From the book
            • formatType: ebook-overdrive
            • url: https://samples.overdrive.com/white-space?.epub-sample.overdrive.com
      • fileName: WhiteSpaceBookOneoftheDarkPassages9781606844205
      • partCount: 0
      • fileSize: 0
      • identifiers:
            • type: ASIN
            • value: B01IPSGUSY
            • type: PublisherCatalogNumber
            • value: 222375
      • name: Kindle Book
      • id: ebook-kindle
      • onSaleDate: 02/11/2014
      • samples:
            • source: From the book
            • formatType: ebook-overdrive
            • url: https://samples.overdrive.com/white-space?.epub-sample.overdrive.com
      • fileName: WhiteSpaceBookOneoftheDarkPassages9781606844205
      • partCount: 0
      • fileSize: 0
      • identifiers:
            • type: ISBN
            • value: 9781512404128
            • type: PublisherCatalogNumber
            • value: 222375
      • name: OverDrive Read
      • id: ebook-overdrive
      • onSaleDate: 02/11/2014
      • samples:
            • source: From the book
            • formatType: ebook-overdrive
            • url: https://samples.overdrive.com/white-space?.epub-sample.overdrive.com
keywords
      • value: characters
      • value: occult
      • value: reality
      • value: Paranormal
      • value: Writing
      • value: supernatural
      • value: Horror
      • value: novel
      • value: scary
      • value: orphans
      • value: Dark Fantasy
      • value: dark
      • value: writer
      • value: story
      • value: stories
      • value: fantasy
      • value: blink
      • value: unfinished
      • value: fantasy stories
      • value: white space
      • value: blinked
      • value: egmont usa
      • value: Emma Lindsay
      • value: Ilsa J. Bick
      • value: The Dark Passages
      • value: Ilsa Bick
      • value: Unfinished Story
creators
      • role: Author
      • fileAs: Bick, Ilsa J.
      • bioText: Ilsa J. Bick is a child psychiatrist, as well as a film scholar, surgeon wannabe, former Air Force major, and an award-winning, best-selling author of short stories, e-books, and novels. She has written extensively in the Star Trek, Battletech, Mechwarrior: Dark Age, and Shadowrun universes. Her original stories have been featured in numerous anthologies, magazines and online venues. Ilsa's YA paranormal, Draw the Dark, was also a semifinalist for the 2009 Amazon Breakthrough Novel Award (as Stalag Winter). Ilsa currently lives with her family and other furry creatures in rural Wisconsin and across the street from the local Hebrew cemetery. One thing she loves about the neighbors: They're very quiet and come around for sugar only once in a blue moon.
      • name: Ilsa J. Bick
imprint
Carolrhoda Lab ®
publishDate
2014-01-01T00:00:00-05:00
ATOS
5.2
isOwnedByCollections
True
title
White Space
fullDescription

In the tradition of Memento and Inception comes a thrilling and scary young adult novel about blurred reality where characters in a story find that a deadly and horrifying world exists in the space between the written lines.

Emma Lindsay has problems: no parents, a crazy guardian, and all those times when she blinks away, dropping into other lives so surreal it's as if the story of her life bleeds into theirs. But one thing Emma has never doubted is that she's real.

Then she writes "White Space," which turns out to be a dead ringer for part of an unfinished novel by a long-dead writer. In the novel, characters travel between different stories. When Emma blinks, she might be doing the same.

Before long, she's dropped into the very story she thought she'd written. Emma meets other kids like her. They discover that they may be nothing more than characters written into being for a very specific purpose. What they must uncover is why they've been brought to this place, before someone pens their end.

gradeLevels
      • value: Grade 3
      • value: Grade 4
popularity
276
links
    • self:
        • href: https://api.overdrive.com/v1/collections/v1L1BQgIAAA2A/products/0ede145d-9c5f-42fb-b56e-c2ebb849cc71/metadata
        • type: application/vnd.overdrive.api+json
id
0ede145d-9c5f-42fb-b56e-c2ebb849cc71
starRating
2.7
images
    • cover:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-100/0955-1/{0EDE145D-9C5F-42FB-B56E-C2EBB849CC71}Img100.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
    • thumbnail:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-200/0955-1/{0EDE145D-9C5F-42FB-B56E-C2EBB849CC71}Img200.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
    • cover150Wide:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-150/0955-1/0ED/E14/5D/{0EDE145D-9C5F-42FB-B56E-C2EBB849CC71}Img150.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
    • cover300Wide:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-400/0955-1/0ED/E14/5D/{0EDE145D-9C5F-42FB-B56E-C2EBB849CC71}Img400.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
isPublicPerformanceAllowed
False
languages
      • code: en
      • name: English
subjects
      • value: Fantasy
      • value: Horror
      • value: Young Adult Fiction
publishDateText
01/01/2014
mediaType
eBook
shortDescription

In the tradition of Memento and Inception comes a thrilling and scary young adult novel about blurred reality where characters in a story find that a deadly and horrifying world exists in the space between the written lines.

Seventeen-year-old Emma Lindsay has problems: a head full of metal, no parents, a crazy artist for a guardian whom a stroke has turned into a vegetable, and all those times when she blinks away, dropping into other lives so ghostly and surreal it's as if the story of her life bleeds into theirs. But one thing Emma has never doubted is that she's real.

Then she writes "White Space," a story about these kids stranded in a spooky house during a blizzard.

Unfortunately, "White Space" turns out to be a dead ringer for part of an unfinished novel by a long-dead writer. The manuscript, which she's never seen, is a loopy Matrix meets Inkheart story in which characters fall out of different books and jump off the...

sortTitle
White Space Dark Passages Series Book 01
lexileScore
770
crossRefId
1381729
series
Dark Passages
subtitle
Dark Passages Series, Book 1
publisher
Lerner Publishing Group