The mansion: a novel
(eAudiobook)

Book Cover
Average Rating
Published:
[United States] : Simon & Schuster Audio, 2018.
Content Description:
1 online resource (1 audio file (13hr., 29 min.)) : digital.
Status:
Description

A family moves into a home equipped with the world's most intelligent, cutting-edge, and intuitive computer ever-but a buried secret leads to terrifying and catastrophic consequences. After two years of living on cheap beer and little else in a bitterly cold tiny cabin outside an abandoned, crumbling mansion, young programmers Shawn Eagle and Billy Stafford have created something that could make them rich: a revolutionary computer they name Eagle Logic. But the hard work and escalating tension have not been kind to their once solid friendship-Shawn's girlfriend Emily has left him for Billy, and a third partner has disappeared under mysterious circumstances. While Billy walks away with Emily, Shawn takes Eagle Logic, which he uses to build a multi-billion-dollar company that eventually outshines Apple, Google, and Microsoft combined. Years later, Billy is a failure, beset by poverty and addiction, and Shawn is the most famous man in the world. Unable to let the past be forgotten, Shawn decides to resurrect his and Billy's biggest failure: a next-generation computer program named Nellie that can control a house's every function. He decides to set it up in the abandoned mansion they worked near all those years ago. But something about Nellie isn't right-and the reconstruction of the mansion is plagued by accidental deaths. Shawn is forced to bring Billy back, despite their longstanding mutual hatred, to discover and destroy the evil that lurks in the source code. From the internationally bestselling author of The Hatching series, this white-knuckled thriller is perfect for fans of Stephen King and Iain Reid.

Also in This Series
More Like This
Other Editions and Formats
More Copies In Prospector
Loading Prospector Copies...
More Details
Format:
eAudiobook
Edition:
Unabridged.
Language:
English
ISBN:
9781508260356 (sound recording : hoopla Audio Book), 1508260354 (sound recording : hoopla Audio Book)

Notes

Restrictions on Access
Digital content provided by hoopla.
Participants/Performers
Read by George Newbern.
Description
A family moves into a home equipped with the world's most intelligent, cutting-edge, and intuitive computer ever-but a buried secret leads to terrifying and catastrophic consequences. After two years of living on cheap beer and little else in a bitterly cold tiny cabin outside an abandoned, crumbling mansion, young programmers Shawn Eagle and Billy Stafford have created something that could make them rich: a revolutionary computer they name Eagle Logic. But the hard work and escalating tension have not been kind to their once solid friendship-Shawn's girlfriend Emily has left him for Billy, and a third partner has disappeared under mysterious circumstances. While Billy walks away with Emily, Shawn takes Eagle Logic, which he uses to build a multi-billion-dollar company that eventually outshines Apple, Google, and Microsoft combined. Years later, Billy is a failure, beset by poverty and addiction, and Shawn is the most famous man in the world. Unable to let the past be forgotten, Shawn decides to resurrect his and Billy's biggest failure: a next-generation computer program named Nellie that can control a house's every function. He decides to set it up in the abandoned mansion they worked near all those years ago. But something about Nellie isn't right-and the reconstruction of the mansion is plagued by accidental deaths. Shawn is forced to bring Billy back, despite their longstanding mutual hatred, to discover and destroy the evil that lurks in the source code. From the internationally bestselling author of The Hatching series, this white-knuckled thriller is perfect for fans of Stephen King and Iain Reid.
System Details
Mode of access: World Wide Web.
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Citations
APA Citation (style guide)

Boone, E., & Newbern, G. (2018). The mansion: a novel. Unabridged. [United States]: Simon & Schuster Audio.

Chicago / Turabian - Author Date Citation (style guide)

Boone, Ezekiel and George Newbern. 2018. The Mansion: A Novel. [United States]: Simon & Schuster Audio.

Chicago / Turabian - Humanities Citation (style guide)

Boone, Ezekiel and George Newbern, The Mansion: A Novel. [United States]: Simon & Schuster Audio, 2018.

MLA Citation (style guide)

Boone, Ezekiel,, and George Newbern. The Mansion: A Novel. Unabridged. [United States]: Simon & Schuster Audio, 2018.

Note! Citation formats are based on standards as of July 2010. Citations contain only title, author, edition, publisher, and year published. Citations should be used as a guideline and should be double checked for accuracy.
Staff View
Grouped Work ID:
4cf8025a-fb27-abce-0797-1e5d00cc1fc2
Go To GroupedWork

Hoopla Extract Information

hooplaId13492073
titleThe Mansion
kindAUDIOBOOK
price3.99
active1
pa0
profanity0
children0
demo0
rating
abridged0
dateLastUpdatedJul 22, 2020 10:00:25 PM

Record Information

Last File Modification TimeSep 01, 2020 09:39:39 PM
Last Grouped Work Modification TimeOct 30, 2020 03:52:03 AM

MARC Record

LEADER03402nim a22004815a 4500
001MWT13492073
003MWT
00520200826050957.1
006m     o  h        
007sz zunnnnnuned
007cr nnannnuuuua
008200809s2018    xxunnn es      f  n eng d
020 |a 9781508260356 (sound recording : hoopla Audio Book)
020 |a 1508260354 (sound recording : hoopla Audio Book)
02842|a MWT13492073
029 |a https://d2snwnmzyr8jue.cloudfront.net/sas_9781508260356_180.jpeg
037 |a 13492073|b Midwest Tape, LLC|n http://www.midwesttapes.com
040 |a Midwest|e rda
08204|a 813/.6|2 23
099 |a eAudiobook hoopla
1001 |a Boone, Ezekiel,|e author.
24514|a The mansion :|b a novel|h [electronic resource].
250 |a Unabridged.
264 1|a [United States] :|b Simon & Schuster Audio,|c 2018.
264 2|b Made available through hoopla
300 |a 1 online resource (1 audio file (13hr., 29 min.)) :|b digital.
336 |a spoken word|b spw|2 rdacontent
337 |a computer|b c|2 rdamedia
338 |a online resource|b cr|2 rdacarrier
344 |a digital|h digital recording|2 rda
347 |a data file|2 rda
506 |a Digital content provided by hoopla.
5110 |a Read by George Newbern.
520 |a A family moves into a home equipped with the world's most intelligent, cutting-edge, and intuitive computer ever-but a buried secret leads to terrifying and catastrophic consequences. After two years of living on cheap beer and little else in a bitterly cold tiny cabin outside an abandoned, crumbling mansion, young programmers Shawn Eagle and Billy Stafford have created something that could make them rich: a revolutionary computer they name Eagle Logic. But the hard work and escalating tension have not been kind to their once solid friendship-Shawn's girlfriend Emily has left him for Billy, and a third partner has disappeared under mysterious circumstances. While Billy walks away with Emily, Shawn takes Eagle Logic, which he uses to build a multi-billion-dollar company that eventually outshines Apple, Google, and Microsoft combined. Years later, Billy is a failure, beset by poverty and addiction, and Shawn is the most famous man in the world. Unable to let the past be forgotten, Shawn decides to resurrect his and Billy's biggest failure: a next-generation computer program named Nellie that can control a house's every function. He decides to set it up in the abandoned mansion they worked near all those years ago. But something about Nellie isn't right-and the reconstruction of the mansion is plagued by accidental deaths. Shawn is forced to bring Billy back, despite their longstanding mutual hatred, to discover and destroy the evil that lurks in the source code. From the internationally bestselling author of The Hatching series, this white-knuckled thriller is perfect for fans of Stephen King and Iain Reid.
538 |a Mode of access: World Wide Web.
650 0|a Home automation|v Fiction.
650 0|a Families|v Fiction.
655 7|a Suspense fiction.|2 gsafd
655 7|a Horror fiction.|2 gsafd
7001 |a Newbern, George,|d 1964-|e narrator.
7102 |a hoopla digital.
85640|u https://www.hoopladigital.com/title/13492073?utm_source=MARC|z Instantly available on hoopla.
85642|z Cover image|u https://d2snwnmzyr8jue.cloudfront.net/sas_9781508260356_180.jpeg