Speak no evil
(eBook)

Book Cover
Average Rating
Published:
[United States] : HarperCollins, 2018.
Content Description:
1 online resource
Lexile measure:
960L
Status:
Description

Winner of the Gold Nautilus Award for Fiction A Lambda Literary Award Finalist A Barbara Gittings Literature Award Finalist An Indie Next Pick A Barnes and Noble Best Book of the Month A Library Journal Best Book of the Year "A lovely slender volume that packs in entire worlds with complete mastery. Speak No Evil explains so much about our times and yet is never anything less than a scintillating, page-turning read."-Gary Shteyngart "A wrenching, tightly woven story about many kinds of love and many kinds of violence. Speak No Evil probes deeply but also with compassion the cruelties of a loving home. Iweala's characters confront you in close-up, as viscerally, bodily alive as any in contemporary fiction."-Larissa MacFarquhar In the long-anticipated novel from the author of the critically acclaimed Beasts of No Nation, a revelation shared between two privileged teenagers from very different backgrounds sets off a chain of events with devastating consequences. On the surface, Niru leads a charmed life. Raised by two attentive parents in Washington, D.C., he's a top student and a track star at his prestigious private high school. Bound for Harvard in the fall, his prospects are bright. But Niru has a painful secret: he is queer-an abominable sin to his conservative Nigerian parents. No one knows except Meredith, his best friend, the daughter of prominent Washington insiders-and the one person who seems not to judge him. When his father accidentally discovers Niru is gay, the fallout is brutal and swift. Coping with troubles of her own, however, Meredith finds that she has little left emotionally to offer him. As the two friends struggle to reconcile their desires against the expectations and institutions that seek to define them, they find themselves speeding toward a future more violent and senseless than they can imagine. Neither will escape unscathed. In the tradition of Junot Diaz's The Brief Wondrous Life of Oscar Wao and Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie's Americanah, Speak No Evil explores what it means to be different in a fundamentally conformist society and how that difference plays out in our inner and outer struggles. It is a novel about the power of words and self-identification, about who gets to speak and who has the power to speak for other people. As heart-wrenching and timely as his breakout debut, Beasts of No Nation, Uzodinma Iweala's second novel cuts to the core of our humanity and leaves us reeling in its wake. One of Bustle's 35 Most Anticipated Fiction Books Of 2018 One of Paste's 25 Most Anticipated Books of 2018 One of The Boston Globe's 25 Books We Can't Wait to Read in 2018

Also in This Series
More Like This
Other Editions and Formats
More Copies In Prospector
Loading Prospector Copies...
More Details
Format:
eBook
Language:
English
ISBN:
9780062199096 (electronic bk.), 0062199099 (electronic bk.)
Lexile measure:
960

Notes

Restrictions on Access
Digital content provided by hoopla.
Description
Winner of the Gold Nautilus Award for Fiction A Lambda Literary Award Finalist A Barbara Gittings Literature Award Finalist An Indie Next Pick A Barnes and Noble Best Book of the Month A Library Journal Best Book of the Year "A lovely slender volume that packs in entire worlds with complete mastery. Speak No Evil explains so much about our times and yet is never anything less than a scintillating, page-turning read."-Gary Shteyngart "A wrenching, tightly woven story about many kinds of love and many kinds of violence. Speak No Evil probes deeply but also with compassion the cruelties of a loving home. Iweala's characters confront you in close-up, as viscerally, bodily alive as any in contemporary fiction."-Larissa MacFarquhar In the long-anticipated novel from the author of the critically acclaimed Beasts of No Nation, a revelation shared between two privileged teenagers from very different backgrounds sets off a chain of events with devastating consequences. On the surface, Niru leads a charmed life. Raised by two attentive parents in Washington, D.C., he's a top student and a track star at his prestigious private high school. Bound for Harvard in the fall, his prospects are bright. But Niru has a painful secret: he is queer-an abominable sin to his conservative Nigerian parents. No one knows except Meredith, his best friend, the daughter of prominent Washington insiders-and the one person who seems not to judge him. When his father accidentally discovers Niru is gay, the fallout is brutal and swift. Coping with troubles of her own, however, Meredith finds that she has little left emotionally to offer him. As the two friends struggle to reconcile their desires against the expectations and institutions that seek to define them, they find themselves speeding toward a future more violent and senseless than they can imagine. Neither will escape unscathed. In the tradition of Junot Diaz's The Brief Wondrous Life of Oscar Wao and Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie's Americanah, Speak No Evil explores what it means to be different in a fundamentally conformist society and how that difference plays out in our inner and outer struggles. It is a novel about the power of words and self-identification, about who gets to speak and who has the power to speak for other people. As heart-wrenching and timely as his breakout debut, Beasts of No Nation, Uzodinma Iweala's second novel cuts to the core of our humanity and leaves us reeling in its wake. One of Bustle's 35 Most Anticipated Fiction Books Of 2018 One of Paste's 25 Most Anticipated Books of 2018 One of The Boston Globe's 25 Books We Can't Wait to Read in 2018
System Details
Mode of access: World Wide Web.
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Citations
APA Citation (style guide)

Iweala, U. (2018). Speak no evil. [United States]: HarperCollins.

Chicago / Turabian - Author Date Citation (style guide)

Iweala, Uzodinma. 2018. Speak No Evil. [United States]: HarperCollins.

Chicago / Turabian - Humanities Citation (style guide)

Iweala, Uzodinma, Speak No Evil. [United States]: HarperCollins, 2018.

MLA Citation (style guide)

Iweala, Uzodinma. Speak No Evil. [United States]: HarperCollins, 2018. Web.

Note! Citation formats are based on standards as of July 2010. Citations contain only title, author, edition, publisher, and year published. Citations should be used as a guideline and should be double checked for accuracy.
Staff View
Grouped Work ID:
eb15c8da-1c8c-6233-f701-7b9b114cc457
Go To GroupedWork

Hoopla Extract Information

hooplaId13051286
titleSpeak No Evil
kindEBOOK
price2.79
active1
pa0
profanity0
children0
demo0
rating
abridged0
dateLastUpdatedJul 21, 2021 10:02:16 PM

Record Information

Last File Modification TimeSep 01, 2020 10:30:23 PM
Last Grouped Work Modification TimeJan 24, 2022 05:54:53 PM

MARC Record

LEADER04204nam a22004455a 4500
001MWT13051286
003MWT
00520200529125700.0
006m     o  d        
007cr cn|||||||||
008200320s2018    xxu    es     000 1 eng d
020 |a 9780062199096 (electronic bk.)
020 |a 0062199099 (electronic bk.)
02842|a MWT13051286
029 |a https://d2snwnmzyr8jue.cloudfront.net/hpc_9780062199096_180.jpeg
037 |a 13051286|b Midwest Tape, LLC|n http://www.midwesttapes.com
040 |a Midwest|e rda
08204|a 823/.92|2 23
099 |a eBook hoopla
1001 |a Iweala, Uzodinma.
24510|a Speak no evil|h [electronic resource] /|c Uzodinma Iweala.
264 1|a [United States] :|b HarperCollins,|c 2018.
264 2|b Made available through hoopla
300 |a 1 online resource
336 |a text|b txt|2 rdacontent
337 |a computer|b c|2 rdamedia
338 |a online resource|b cr|2 rdacarrier
347 |a text file|2 rda
506 |a Digital content provided by hoopla.
520 |a Winner of the Gold Nautilus Award for Fiction A Lambda Literary Award Finalist A Barbara Gittings Literature Award Finalist An Indie Next Pick A Barnes and Noble Best Book of the Month A Library Journal Best Book of the Year "A lovely slender volume that packs in entire worlds with complete mastery. Speak No Evil explains so much about our times and yet is never anything less than a scintillating, page-turning read."-Gary Shteyngart "A wrenching, tightly woven story about many kinds of love and many kinds of violence. Speak No Evil probes deeply but also with compassion the cruelties of a loving home. Iweala's characters confront you in close-up, as viscerally, bodily alive as any in contemporary fiction."-Larissa MacFarquhar In the long-anticipated novel from the author of the critically acclaimed Beasts of No Nation, a revelation shared between two privileged teenagers from very different backgrounds sets off a chain of events with devastating consequences. On the surface, Niru leads a charmed life. Raised by two attentive parents in Washington, D.C., he's a top student and a track star at his prestigious private high school. Bound for Harvard in the fall, his prospects are bright. But Niru has a painful secret: he is queer-an abominable sin to his conservative Nigerian parents. No one knows except Meredith, his best friend, the daughter of prominent Washington insiders-and the one person who seems not to judge him. When his father accidentally discovers Niru is gay, the fallout is brutal and swift. Coping with troubles of her own, however, Meredith finds that she has little left emotionally to offer him. As the two friends struggle to reconcile their desires against the expectations and institutions that seek to define them, they find themselves speeding toward a future more violent and senseless than they can imagine. Neither will escape unscathed. In the tradition of Junot Diaz's The Brief Wondrous Life of Oscar Wao and Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie's Americanah, Speak No Evil explores what it means to be different in a fundamentally conformist society and how that difference plays out in our inner and outer struggles. It is a novel about the power of words and self-identification, about who gets to speak and who has the power to speak for other people. As heart-wrenching and timely as his breakout debut, Beasts of No Nation, Uzodinma Iweala's second novel cuts to the core of our humanity and leaves us reeling in its wake. One of Bustle's 35 Most Anticipated Fiction Books Of 2018 One of Paste's 25 Most Anticipated Books of 2018 One of The Boston Globe's 25 Books We Can't Wait to Read in 2018
538 |a Mode of access: World Wide Web.
650 0|a Sexual orientation|v Fiction.
650 0|a Gay teenagers|v Fiction.
650 0|a Nigerian Americans|v Fiction.
650 0|a Electronic books.
651 0|a Washington (D.C.)|v Fiction.
650 0|a Downloadable books
7102 |a hoopla digital.
85640|u https://www.hoopladigital.com/title/13051286?utm_source=MARC|z Instantly available on hoopla.
85642|z Cover image|u https://d2snwnmzyr8jue.cloudfront.net/hpc_9780062199096_180.jpeg