Doing harm: the truth about how bad medicine and lazy science leave women dismissed, misdiagnosed, and sick

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Language:
English
Description
"In this shocking, hard-hitting expose in the tradition of Naomi Klein and Barbara Ehrenreich, the editorial director of Feministing.com, reveals how gender bias infects every level of medicine and healthcare today--leading to inadequate, inappropriate, and even dangerous treatment that threatens women's lives and well-being. Modern medicine is failing women. Half of all American women suffer from at least one chronic health condition--from autoimmune disorders and asthma to depression and Alzheimer's disease--and the numbers are increasing. A wealth of research has revealed that women often exhibit different symptoms than their male counterparts, suffer disproportionately from many debilitating conditions, and may react differently to prescription drugs and other therapies. Yet more than twenty years after the law decreed that women be included in all health-related research and drug development, doctors are still operating with a lingering knowledge gap when it comes to women's health. And they're not immune to unconscious biases and stereotypes that can undermine the doctor-patient relationship. The consequences can be catastrophic: Too often, women are misdiagnosed, poorly treated, and find their complaints dismissed as "just stress" or "all in your head." Meanwhile, they're getting sicker. Maya Dusenbery brings together scientific and sociological research, interviews with experts within and outside the medical establishment, and personal stories from regular women to provide the first comprehensive, accessible look at how sexism in medicine harms women today. In addition to offering a clear-eyed explanation of the root causes of this insidious and entrenched bias and laying out its effects, she suggests concrete steps we can take to cure it. Eye-opening and long-overdue, Doing Harm is an empowering call to action for health care providers and all women"--
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Copies In Prospector
Loading Prospector Copies...
More Details
Contributors:
ISBN:
9780062470805
9780062470812
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work IDfb50bff8-8e1f-cc9f-982a-c591073c5151
Grouping Titledoing harm the truth about how bad medicine and lazy science leave women dismissed misdiagnosed and sick
Grouping Authormaya dusenbery
Grouping Categorybook
Grouping LanguageEnglish (eng)
Last Grouping Update2022-12-01 03:40:37AM
Last Indexed2022-12-01 04:07:48AM

Solr Fields

accelerated_reader_point_value
0
accelerated_reader_reading_level
0
author
Dusenbery, Maya
author2-role
hoopla digital
author_display
Dusenbery, Maya
available_at_aurora
Central
Mission Viejo
Tallyn's Reach
detailed_location_aurora
Central
Mission Viejo
Tallyn's Reach
display_description
"In this shocking, hard-hitting expose in the tradition of Naomi Klein and Barbara Ehrenreich, the editorial director of Feministing.com, reveals how gender bias infects every level of medicine and healthcare today--leading to inadequate, inappropriate, and even dangerous treatment that threatens women's lives and well-being. Modern medicine is failing women. Half of all American women suffer from at least one chronic health condition--from autoimmune disorders and asthma to depression and Alzheimer's disease--and the numbers are increasing. A wealth of research has revealed that women often exhibit different symptoms than their male counterparts, suffer disproportionately from many debilitating conditions, and may react differently to prescription drugs and other therapies. Yet more than twenty years after the law decreed that women be included in all health-related research and drug development, doctors are still operating with a lingering knowledge gap when it comes to women's health. And they're not immune to unconscious biases and stereotypes that can undermine the doctor-patient relationship. The consequences can be catastrophic: Too often, women are misdiagnosed, poorly treated, and find their complaints dismissed as "just stress" or "all in your head." Meanwhile, they're getting sicker. Maya Dusenbery brings together scientific and sociological research, interviews with experts within and outside the medical establishment, and personal stories from regular women to provide the first comprehensive, accessible look at how sexism in medicine harms women today. In addition to offering a clear-eyed explanation of the root causes of this insidious and entrenched bias and laying out its effects, she suggests concrete steps we can take to cure it. Eye-opening and long-overdue, Doing Harm is an empowering call to action for health care providers and all women"--
format_aurora
Book
eBook
format_category_aurora
Books
eBook
id
fb50bff8-8e1f-cc9f-982a-c591073c5151
isbn
9780062470805
9780062470812
itype_aurora
Book
last_indexed
2022-12-01T11:07:48.680Z
lexile_score
-1
literary_form
Non Fiction
literary_form_full
Non Fiction
local_callnumber_aurora
613.04244 Dus
owning_library_aurora
Aurora Public Library
owning_location_aurora
Central
Mission Viejo
Tallyn's Reach
primary_isbn
9780062470805
publishDate
2018
publisher
HarperCollins
HarperOne, an imprint of HarperCollinsPublishers
recordtype
grouped_work
subject_facet
Electronic books
Health education
Sexism in medicine
Women -- Health and hygiene -- Research
Women -- Health and hygiene -- Sociological aspects
title_display
Doing harm : the truth about how bad medicine and lazy science leave women dismissed, misdiagnosed, and sick
title_full
Doing Harm The Truth About How Bad Medicine and Lazy Science Leave Women Dismissed, Misdiagnosed, and Sick
Doing harm : the truth about how bad medicine and lazy science leave women dismissed, misdiagnosed, and sick / Maya Dusenbery
Doing harm : the truth about how bad medicine and lazy science leave women dismissed, misdiagnosed, and sick [electronic resource] / Maya Dusenbery
title_short
Doing harm
title_sub
the truth about how bad medicine and lazy science leave women dismissed, misdiagnosed, and sick
topic_facet
Electronic books
Health & Fitness
Health and hygiene
Health education
Nonfiction
Research
Sexism in medicine
Sociological aspects
Sociology
Women
Women's Studies

Solr Details Tables

item_details

Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent URLDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocation
ils:.b18488808.i24107049Mission Viejo613.04244 Dus1falsefalseAvailablemvlnf
ils:.b18488808.i24107025Tallyn's Reach613.04244 Dus1falsefalseAvailableOct 29, 2022tlrnf
ils:.b18488808.i24107037Central613.04244 Dus1falsefalseAvailableSep 23, 2022cennf
overdrive:b4278cb3-5e90-4a16-92c0-1f2cf3e085f3-1Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook1falsetrueOverDriveChecked Out
hoopla:MWT13051272Online Hoopla CollectionOnline HooplaeBookeBook1falsetrueHooplahttps://www.hoopladigital.com/title/13051272?utm_source=MARCAvailable Online

record_details

Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical DescriptionAbridged
ils:.b18488808BookBooksFirst editionEnglishHarperOne, an imprint of HarperCollinsPublishers[2018]390 pages ; 24 cm.
overdrive:b4278cb3-5e90-4a16-92c0-1f2cf3e085f3eBookeBookEnglishHarperCollins2018
hoopla:MWT13051272eBookeBookEnglishHarperCollins20181 online resource

scoping_details_aurora

Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
ils:.b18488808.i24107049On ShelfAvailablefalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue0, 1, 3, 4, 20, 5, 6, 7, 8, 11
ils:.b18488808.i24107025On ShelfAvailablefalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue0, 1, 3, 4, 20, 5, 6, 7, 8, 11
ils:.b18488808.i24107037On ShelfAvailablefalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue0, 1, 3, 20, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 11
overdrive:b4278cb3-5e90-4a16-92c0-1f2cf3e085f3-1Checked OutChecked Outfalsefalsetruefalsefalsefalse
hoopla:MWT13051272Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruefalsefalsefalsefalse