The weight of ink

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
2017.
Language:
English
Description
"An intellectual and emotional jigsaw puzzle of a novel for readers of A. S. Byatt's Possession and Geraldine Brooks's People of the Book Set in London of the 1660s and of the early twenty-first century, The Weight of Ink is the interwoven tale of two women of remarkable intellect: Ester Velasquez, anemigrant from Amsterdam who is permitted to scribe for a blind rabbi, just before the plague hits the city; and Helen Watt, an ailing historian with a love of Jewish history. As the novel opens, Helen has been summoned by a former student to view a cache of seventeenth-century Jewish documents newly discovered in his home during a renovation. Enlisting the help of Aaron Levy, an American graduate student as impatient as he is charming, and in a race with another fast-moving team of historians, Helen embarks on one last project: to determine the identity of the documents' scribe, the elusive"Aleph."Electrifying and ambitious, sweeping in scope and intimate in tone, The Weight of Ink is a sophisticated work of historical fiction about women separated by centuries, and the choices and sacrifices they must makein order to reconcile the life of the heart and mind"--
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Copies In Prospector
Loading Prospector Copies...
More Details
ISBN:
9780544866461
9781681686325
9780544866676
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work IDf419eb03-ddb7-f1dd-1d74-136623830a98
Grouping Titleweight of ink
Grouping Authorrachel kadish
Grouping Categorybook
Grouping LanguageEnglish (eng)
Last Grouping Update2020-10-24 22:00:01PM
Last Indexed2020-10-24 04:59:53AM
Novelist Primary ISBNnone

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_point_value0
accelerated_reader_reading_level0
auth_author2James, Corrie.
authorKadish, Rachel,
author2-roleJames, Corrie.
hoopla digital.
author_displayKadish, Rachel
available_at_auroraMission Viejo
detailed_location_auroraMission Viejo
display_description"An intellectual and emotional jigsaw puzzle of a novel for readers of A. S. Byatt's Possession and Geraldine Brooks's People of the Book Set in London of the 1660s and of the early twenty-first century, The Weight of Ink is the interwoven tale of two women of remarkable intellect: Ester Velasquez, anemigrant from Amsterdam who is permitted to scribe for a blind rabbi, just before the plague hits the city; and Helen Watt, an ailing historian with a love of Jewish history. As the novel opens, Helen has been summoned by a former student to view a cache of seventeenth-century Jewish documents newly discovered in his home during a renovation. Enlisting the help of Aaron Levy, an American graduate student as impatient as he is charming, and in a race with another fast-moving team of historians, Helen embarks on one last project: to determine the identity of the documents' scribe, the elusive"Aleph."Electrifying and ambitious, sweeping in scope and intimate in tone, The Weight of Ink is a sophisticated work of historical fiction about women separated by centuries, and the choices and sacrifices they must makein order to reconcile the life of the heart and mind"--
format_auroraBook
eAudiobook
eBook
format_category_auroraAudio Books
Books
eBook
idf419eb03-ddb7-f1dd-1d74-136623830a98
isbn9780544866461
9780544866676
9781681686325
item_details
Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent FileeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocationSub-location
hoopla:MWT13254818Online Hoopla CollectionOnline HooplaeBookeBook1falsetruehooplahttps://www.hoopladigital.com/title/13254818?utm_source=MARCAvailable Online
hoopla:MWT11897646Online Hoopla CollectionOnline HooplaeAudiobookAudio Books1falsetruehooplahttps://www.hoopladigital.com/title/11897646?utm_source=MARCAvailable Online
ils:.b18391722.i23862981Mission ViejoKadish, R.1falsefalseAvailableSep 15, 2020mvlfi
ils:.b18391722.i2386297xMission ViejoKadish, R.1falsefalseAvailableSep 21, 2020mvlfi
overdrive:5bab77fa-4e69-4db7-8196-c63995d3845b-1Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook1falsetrueOverDriveAdobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive ReadChecked Out
itype_auroraBook
last_indexed2020-10-24T10:59:53.437Z
lexile_score-1
literary_formFiction
literary_form_fullFiction
local_callnumber_auroraKadish, R.
owning_library_auroraAurora Public Library
owning_location_auroraMission Viejo
primary_isbn9780544866461
publishDate2017
record_details
Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical Description
hoopla:MWT13254818eBookeBookEnglishHMH Books, 2017.1 online resource
hoopla:MWT11897646eAudiobookAudio BooksUnabridged.EnglishHighBridge, 2017.1 online resource (1 audio file (23hr., 25 min.)) : digital.
ils:.b18391722BookBooksEnglishHoughton Mifflin Harcourt, 2017.567 pages ; 24 cm.
overdrive:5bab77fa-4e69-4db7-8196-c63995d3845beBookeBookEnglishHMH Books2017
recordtypegrouped_work
scoping_details_aurora
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
hoopla:MWT13254818Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruefalsefalsefalsefalse
hoopla:MWT11897646Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruefalsefalsefalsefalse
ils:.b18391722.i23862981On ShelfAvailablefalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue0, 1, 3, 4, 20, 5, 6, 7, 8, 11
ils:.b18391722.i2386297xOn ShelfAvailablefalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue0, 1, 3, 4, 20, 5, 6, 7, 8, 11
overdrive:5bab77fa-4e69-4db7-8196-c63995d3845b-1Checked OutChecked Outfalsefalsetruefalsefalsefalse
subject_facetElectronic books
Historical fiction
Jewish women -- Fiction
Women historians -- Fiction
title_displayThe weight of ink
title_fullThe Weight of Ink
The weight of ink / Rachel Kadish
The weight of ink [electronic resource] / Rachel Kadish
title_shortThe weight of ink
topic_facetElectronic books
Fiction
Historical Fiction
Jewish women
Literature
Women historians