The weight of ink

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
2017
Language:
English
Description
"An intellectual and emotional jigsaw puzzle of a novel for readers of A. S. Byatt's Possession and Geraldine Brooks's People of the Book Set in London of the 1660s and of the early twenty-first century, The Weight of Ink is the interwoven tale of two women of remarkable intellect: Ester Velasquez, anemigrant from Amsterdam who is permitted to scribe for a blind rabbi, just before the plague hits the city; and Helen Watt, an ailing historian with a love of Jewish history. As the novel opens, Helen has been summoned by a former student to view a cache of seventeenth-century Jewish documents newly discovered in his home during a renovation. Enlisting the help of Aaron Levy, an American graduate student as impatient as he is charming, and in a race with another fast-moving team of historians, Helen embarks on one last project: to determine the identity of the documents' scribe, the elusive"Aleph."Electrifying and ambitious, sweeping in scope and intimate in tone, The Weight of Ink is a sophisticated work of historical fiction about women separated by centuries, and the choices and sacrifices they must makein order to reconcile the life of the heart and mind"--
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Copies In Prospector
Loading Prospector Copies...
More Details
ISBN:
9780544866461
9781681686325
9780544866676
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work IDf419eb03-ddb7-f1dd-1d74-136623830a98
Grouping Titleweight of ink
Grouping Authorrachel kadish
Grouping Categorybook
Grouping LanguageEnglish (eng)
Last Grouping Update2022-12-06 03:47:53AM
Last Indexed2022-12-06 03:20:04AM

Solr Fields

accelerated_reader_point_value
0
accelerated_reader_reading_level
0
auth_author2
James, Corrie
author
Kadish, Rachel
author2-role
James, Corrie
hoopla digital
author_display
Kadish, Rachel
available_at_aurora
Central
detailed_location_aurora
Central
Mission Viejo
display_description
"An intellectual and emotional jigsaw puzzle of a novel for readers of A. S. Byatt's Possession and Geraldine Brooks's People of the Book Set in London of the 1660s and of the early twenty-first century, The Weight of Ink is the interwoven tale of two women of remarkable intellect: Ester Velasquez, anemigrant from Amsterdam who is permitted to scribe for a blind rabbi, just before the plague hits the city; and Helen Watt, an ailing historian with a love of Jewish history. As the novel opens, Helen has been summoned by a former student to view a cache of seventeenth-century Jewish documents newly discovered in his home during a renovation. Enlisting the help of Aaron Levy, an American graduate student as impatient as he is charming, and in a race with another fast-moving team of historians, Helen embarks on one last project: to determine the identity of the documents' scribe, the elusive"Aleph."Electrifying and ambitious, sweeping in scope and intimate in tone, The Weight of Ink is a sophisticated work of historical fiction about women separated by centuries, and the choices and sacrifices they must makein order to reconcile the life of the heart and mind"--
format_aurora
Book
eAudiobook
eBook
format_category_aurora
Audio Books
Books
eBook
id
f419eb03-ddb7-f1dd-1d74-136623830a98
isbn
9780544866461
9780544866676
9781681686325
itype_aurora
Book
last_indexed
2022-12-06T10:20:04.936Z
lexile_score
-1
literary_form
Fiction
literary_form_full
Fiction
local_callnumber_aurora
Kadish, R.
owning_library_aurora
Aurora Public Library
owning_location_aurora
Central
Mission Viejo
primary_isbn
9780544866461
publishDate
2017
publisher
HarperCollins
HighBridge
Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
recordtype
grouped_work
subject_facet
Electronic books
Historical fiction
Jewish women -- Fiction
Women historians -- Fiction
title_display
The weight of ink
title_full
The Weight of Ink
The weight of ink / Rachel Kadish
The weight of ink [electronic resource] / Rachel Kadish
title_short
The weight of ink
topic_facet
Electronic books
Fiction
Historical Fiction
Jewish women
Literature
Women historians

Solr Details Tables

item_details

Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent URLDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocation
hoopla:MWT14851710Online Hoopla CollectionOnline HooplaeBookeBook1falsetrueHooplahttps://www.hoopladigital.com/title/14800767?utm_source=MARCAvailable Online
hoopla:MWT11897646Online Hoopla CollectionOnline HooplaeAudiobookAudio Books1falsetrueHooplahttps://www.hoopladigital.com/title/11897646?utm_source=MARCAvailable Online
ils:.b18391722.i23862981Mission ViejoKadish, R.1falsefalseDue Dec 10, 2022Jun 17, 2022mvlfi
ils:.b18391722.i2386297xCentralKadish, R.1falsefalseAvailableNov 21, 2022cenfi
overdrive:5bab77fa-4e69-4db7-8196-c63995d3845b-1Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook1falsetrueOverDriveAvailable Online

record_details

Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical DescriptionAbridged
hoopla:MWT14851710eBookeBookEnglishHarperCollins20171 online resource
hoopla:MWT11897646eAudiobookAudio BooksUnabridgedEnglishHighBridge20171 online resource (1 audio file (23hr., 25 min.)) : digital.
ils:.b18391722BookBooksEnglishHoughton Mifflin Harcourt2017567 pages ; 24 cm.
overdrive:5bab77fa-4e69-4db7-8196-c63995d3845beBookeBookEnglishHarperCollins2017

scoping_details_aurora

Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
hoopla:MWT14851710Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruefalsefalsefalsefalse
hoopla:MWT11897646Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruefalsefalsefalsefalse
ils:.b18391722.i23862981Checked OutChecked Outfalsefalsetruefalsefalsetrue0, 1, 3, 4, 20, 5, 6, 7, 8, 11
ils:.b18391722.i2386297xOn ShelfAvailablefalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue0, 1, 3, 20, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 11
overdrive:5bab77fa-4e69-4db7-8196-c63995d3845b-1Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse