The English teacher: A Novel

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Language:
English
Description
"For readers of John Le Carre and viewers of Homeland, a slow-burning psychological spy-thriller by a former brigadier general of intelligence in the Israeli army. After attending her father's funeral, former Mossad agent Rachel Goldschmitt empties her bank account and disappears. But when she makes a cryptic phone call to her former handler, Ehud, the Mossad sends him to track her down. Finding no leads, he must retrace her career as a spy to figure out why she abandoned Mossad before she can do any damage to Israel. But he soon discovers that after living under cover for so long, an agent's assumed identity and her real one can blur, catching loyalty, love, and truth between them. In the midst of a high-risk, high-stakes investigation, Ehud begins to question whether he ever knew his agent at all. In The English Teacher, Yiftach R. Atir drew on his own experience in intelligence to weave a psychologically nuanced thriller that explores the pressures of living under an assumed identity for months at a time".--
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Copies In Prospector
Loading Prospector Copies...
More Details
ISBN:
9780143129189
9780143129196
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work IDe08f2e78-e1cc-d46b-dc48-e8f111af250b
Grouping Titleenglish teacher
Grouping Authoryiftach reicher atir
Grouping Categorybook
Grouping LanguageEnglish (eng)
Last Grouping Update2020-11-26 03:52:12AM
Last Indexed2020-11-26 05:02:12AM
Novelist Primary ISBN9780143129189

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_point_value0
accelerated_reader_reading_level0
auth_author2Simpson, Philip, 1952-
authorReicher Atir, Yiftach,
author2-roleSimpson, Philip,1952-translator.
author_displayReicher Atir, Yiftach
available_at_auroraHoffman
Mission Viejo
detailed_location_auroraHoffman Heights
Mission Viejo
display_description"For readers of John Le Carre and viewers of Homeland, a slow-burning psychological spy-thriller by a former brigadier general of intelligence in the Israeli army. After attending her father's funeral, former Mossad agent Rachel Goldschmitt empties her bank account and disappears. But when she makes a cryptic phone call to her former handler, Ehud, the Mossad sends him to track her down. Finding no leads, he must retrace her career as a spy to figure out why she abandoned Mossad before she can do any damage to Israel. But he soon discovers that after living under cover for so long, an agent's assumed identity and her real one can blur, catching loyalty, love, and truth between them. In the midst of a high-risk, high-stakes investigation, Ehud begins to question whether he ever knew his agent at all. In The English Teacher, Yiftach R. Atir drew on his own experience in intelligence to weave a psychologically nuanced thriller that explores the pressures of living under an assumed identity for months at a time".--
format_auroraBook
eBook
format_category_auroraBooks
eBook
ide08f2e78-e1cc-d46b-dc48-e8f111af250b
isbn9780143129189
9780143129196
item_details
Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent FileeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocationSub-location
overdrive:5e75015a-3184-4662-a992-382e0b09464d-1Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook1falsetrueOverDriveAdobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive ReadAvailable Online
ils:.b18185010.i23526774Mission ViejoMF Reicher Atir, Y.1falsefalseAvailableOct 09, 2020mvlfi
ils:.b18185010.i23526786Hoffman HeightsMF Reicher Atir, Y.1falsefalseAvailableSep 03, 2019hoffi
itype_auroraBook
last_indexed2020-11-26T12:02:12.22Z
lexile_score-1
literary_formFiction
literary_form_fullFiction
local_callnumber_auroraMF Reicher Atir, Y.
owning_library_auroraAurora Public Library
owning_location_auroraHoffman
Mission Viejo
primary_isbn9780143129189
publishDate2016
record_details
Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical Description
overdrive:5e75015a-3184-4662-a992-382e0b09464deBookeBookEnglishPenguin Publishing Group2016
ils:.b18185010BookBooksEnglishPenguin Books, [2016]viii, 260 pages ; 21 cm.
recordtypegrouped_work
scoping_details_aurora
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
overdrive:5e75015a-3184-4662-a992-382e0b09464d-1Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse
ils:.b18185010.i23526774On ShelfAvailablefalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue0, 1, 3, 4, 20, 5, 6, 7, 8, 11
ils:.b18185010.i23526786On ShelfAvailablefalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue0, 1, 3, 20, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 11
subject_facetIntelligence officers -- Israel -- Fiction
Israel. -- Mosad le-modiʻin e-tafidim meyuadim -- Fiction
Mystery fiction
Women spies -- Israel -- Fiction
title_displayThe English teacher
title_fullThe English Teacher A Novel
The English teacher / Yiftach Reicher Atir ; translated from the Hebrew by Philip Simpson
title_shortThe English teacher
title_subA Novel
topic_facetFiction
Intelligence officers
Mystery
Thriller
Women spies