We cast a shadow: a novel

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Language:
English
Description
"In a near-future Southern city, everyone is talking about a new experimental medical procedure that boasts unprecedented success rates. In a society plagued by racism, segregation, and private prisons, this operation saves lives with a controversial method--by turning people white. Like any father, our unnamed narrator just wants the best for his son Nigel, a biracial boy whose black birthmark is getting bigger by the day. But in order to afford Nigel's whiteness operation, our narrator must make partner as one of the few black associates at his law firm, jumping through a series of increasingly absurd hoops--from diversity committees to plantation tours to equality activist groups--in a tragicomic quest to protect his son. This electrifying, suspenseful novel is, at once, a razor-sharp satire of surviving racism in America and a profoundly moving family story. In the tradition of Ralph Ellison's Invisible Man, We Cast a Shadow fearlessly shines a light on the violence we inherit, and on the desperate things we do for the ones we love"--
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Copies In Prospector
Loading Prospector Copies...
More Details
ISBN:
9780525509066
9780525637370
9780525509080
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work IDdf49cfc0-db15-c7cb-38ee-78fe4099d2df
Grouping Titlewe cast a shadow
Grouping Authormaurice carlos ruffin
Grouping Categorybook
Grouping LanguageEnglish (eng)
Last Grouping Update2020-10-28 03:51:57AM
Last Indexed2020-10-28 05:03:47AM
Novelist Primary ISBN9780525509066

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_point_value0
accelerated_reader_reading_level0
authorMaurice Carlos Ruffin
author_displayRuffin, Maurice Carlos
available_at_auroraIliff Square
Tallyn's Reach
detailed_location_auroraIliff Square
Tallyn's Reach
display_description"In a near-future Southern city, everyone is talking about a new experimental medical procedure that boasts unprecedented success rates. In a society plagued by racism, segregation, and private prisons, this operation saves lives with a controversial method--by turning people white. Like any father, our unnamed narrator just wants the best for his son Nigel, a biracial boy whose black birthmark is getting bigger by the day. But in order to afford Nigel's whiteness operation, our narrator must make partner as one of the few black associates at his law firm, jumping through a series of increasingly absurd hoops--from diversity committees to plantation tours to equality activist groups--in a tragicomic quest to protect his son. This electrifying, suspenseful novel is, at once, a razor-sharp satire of surviving racism in America and a profoundly moving family story. In the tradition of Ralph Ellison's Invisible Man, We Cast a Shadow fearlessly shines a light on the violence we inherit, and on the desperate things we do for the ones we love"--
format_auroraBook
eAudiobook
eBook
format_category_auroraAudio Books
Books
eBook
iddf49cfc0-db15-c7cb-38ee-78fe4099d2df
isbn9780525509066
9780525509080
9780525637370
item_details
Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent FileeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocationSub-location
ils:.b18581687.i24398755Tallyn's ReachRuffin, M.1falsefalseAvailableOct 17, 2019tlrfi
ils:.b18581687.i24398731Iliff SquareRuffin, M.1falsefalseAvailableSep 14, 2020ilffi
overdrive:a08be40c-b407-45e9-9769-d2b2af50fa6e-1Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeAudiobookAudio Books1falsetrueOverDriveOverDrive MP3 Audiobook, OverDrive ListenAvailable Online
overdrive:8e11208f-4698-45f5-9589-418631711140-1Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook1falsetrueOverDriveAdobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive ReadAvailable Online
itype_auroraBook
last_indexed2020-10-28T11:03:47.65Z
lexile_score-1
literary_formFiction
literary_form_fullFiction
local_callnumber_auroraRuffin, M.
owning_library_auroraAurora Public Library
owning_location_auroraIliff Square
Tallyn's Reach
primary_isbn9780525509066
publishDate2019
record_details
Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical Description
ils:.b18581687BookBooksFirst edition.EnglishOne World, [2019]324 pages ; 25 cm.
overdrive:a08be40c-b407-45e9-9769-d2b2af50fa6eeAudiobookAudio BooksEnglishPenguin Random House Audio Publishing Group2019
overdrive:8e11208f-4698-45f5-9589-418631711140eBookeBookEnglishRandom House Publishing Group2019
recordtypegrouped_work
scoping_details_aurora
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
ils:.b18581687.i24398755On ShelfAvailablefalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue0, 1, 3, 20, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 11
ils:.b18581687.i24398731On ShelfAvailablefalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue0, 1, 3, 4, 20, 5, 6, 7, 8, 11
overdrive:a08be40c-b407-45e9-9769-d2b2af50fa6e-1Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse
overdrive:8e11208f-4698-45f5-9589-418631711140-1Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse
subject_facetAfrican Americans -- Fiction
title_displayWe cast a shadow : a novel
title_fullWe Cast a Shadow A Novel
We cast a shadow : a novel / Maurice Carlos Ruffin
title_shortWe cast a shadow
title_suba novel
topic_facetAfrican American Fiction
African Americans
Fiction
Literature