We cast a shadow: a novel

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Language:
English
Description
"In a near-future Southern city, everyone is talking about a new experimental medical procedure that boasts unprecedented success rates. In a society plagued by racism, segregation, and private prisons, this operation saves lives with a controversial method--by turning people white. Like any father, our unnamed narrator just wants the best for his son Nigel, a biracial boy whose black birthmark is getting bigger by the day. But in order to afford Nigel's whiteness operation, our narrator must make partner as one of the few black associates at his law firm, jumping through a series of increasingly absurd hoops--from diversity committees to plantation tours to equality activist groups--in a tragicomic quest to protect his son. This electrifying, suspenseful novel is, at once, a razor-sharp satire of surviving racism in America and a profoundly moving family story. In the tradition of Ralph Ellison's Invisible Man, We Cast a Shadow fearlessly shines a light on the violence we inherit, and on the desperate things we do for the ones we love"--
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Copies In Prospector
Loading Prospector Copies...
More Details
ISBN:
9780525509066
9780525637370
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work IDdf49cfc0-db15-c7cb-38ee-78fe4099d2df
Grouping Titlewe cast a shadow
Grouping Authormaurice carlos ruffin
Grouping Categorybook
Grouping LanguageEnglish (eng)
Last Grouping Update2022-12-08 03:40:40AM
Last Indexed2022-12-08 04:11:10AM

Solr Fields

accelerated_reader_point_value
0
accelerated_reader_reading_level
0
author
Ruffin, Maurice Carlos
author_display
Ruffin, Maurice Carlos
available_at_aurora
Tallyn's Reach
detailed_location_aurora
Tallyn's Reach
display_description
"In a near-future Southern city, everyone is talking about a new experimental medical procedure that boasts unprecedented success rates. In a society plagued by racism, segregation, and private prisons, this operation saves lives with a controversial method--by turning people white. Like any father, our unnamed narrator just wants the best for his son Nigel, a biracial boy whose black birthmark is getting bigger by the day. But in order to afford Nigel's whiteness operation, our narrator must make partner as one of the few black associates at his law firm, jumping through a series of increasingly absurd hoops--from diversity committees to plantation tours to equality activist groups--in a tragicomic quest to protect his son. This electrifying, suspenseful novel is, at once, a razor-sharp satire of surviving racism in America and a profoundly moving family story. In the tradition of Ralph Ellison's Invisible Man, We Cast a Shadow fearlessly shines a light on the violence we inherit, and on the desperate things we do for the ones we love"--
format_aurora
Book
eAudiobook
format_category_aurora
Audio Books
Books
eBook
id
df49cfc0-db15-c7cb-38ee-78fe4099d2df
isbn
9780525509066
9780525637370
itype_aurora
Book
last_indexed
2022-12-08T11:11:10.178Z
lexile_score
-1
literary_form
Fiction
literary_form_full
Fiction
local_callnumber_aurora
Ruffin, M.
owning_library_aurora
Aurora Public Library
owning_location_aurora
Tallyn's Reach
primary_isbn
9780525509066
publishDate
2019
publisher
One World
Penguin Random House Audio Publishing Group
recordtype
grouped_work
subject_facet
African Americans -- Fiction
title_display
We cast a shadow : a novel
title_full
We Cast a Shadow A Novel
We cast a shadow : a novel / Maurice Carlos Ruffin
title_short
We cast a shadow
title_sub
a novel
topic_facet
African American Fiction
African Americans
Fiction
Literature

Solr Details Tables

item_details

Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent URLDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocation
ils:.b18581687.i24398731Tallyn's ReachRuffin, M.1falsefalseAvailableSep 13, 2020tlrfi
overdrive:a08be40c-b407-45e9-9769-d2b2af50fa6e-1Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeAudiobookAudio Books1falsetrueOverDriveAvailable Online

record_details

Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical DescriptionAbridged
ils:.b18581687BookBooksFirst editionEnglishOne World[2019]324 pages ; 25 cm.
overdrive:a08be40c-b407-45e9-9769-d2b2af50fa6eeAudiobookAudio BooksEnglishPenguin Random House Audio Publishing Group2019

scoping_details_aurora

Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
ils:.b18581687.i24398731On ShelfAvailablefalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue0, 1, 3, 20, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 11
overdrive:a08be40c-b407-45e9-9769-d2b2af50fa6e-1Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse