The Wrong Heaven

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
Little, Brown and Company
Pub. Date:
2018
Language:
English
Description
For fans of George Saunders and Karen Russell, an "amazing, wildly inventive" collection of stories that straddles the line between the real and the fantastical (Kevin Wilson).
In The Wrong Heaven, anything is possible: bodies can transform, inanimate objects come to life, angels appear and disappear.
Bonnaffons draws us into a delightfully strange universe, in which her conflicted characters seek to solve their sexual and spiritual dilemmas in all the wrong places. The title story's heroine reckons with grief while arguing with loquacious Jesus and Mary lawn ornaments that come to life when she plugs them in. In Horse, we enter a world in which women transform themselves into animals through a series of medical injections. In Alternate, a young woman convinces herself that all she needs to revive a stagnant relationship is the perfect poster of the Dalai Lama.
While some of the worlds to which Bonnaffons transports us are more recognizable than others, all of them uncover the mysteries beneath the mundane surfaces of our lives. Enormously funny, boldly inventive, and as provocative as they are deeply affecting, these stories lay bare the heart of our deepest longings.
Including the story Horse, as heard on This American Life.
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Copies In Prospector
Loading Prospector Copies...
More Details
ISBN:
9780316516204
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work IDb427c091-373c-bd9a-6b63-6d697d9db864
Grouping Titlewrong heaven
Grouping Authoramy bonnaffons
Grouping Categorybook
Grouping LanguageEnglish (eng)
Last Grouping Update2023-09-30 03:48:12AM
Last Indexed2023-09-30 03:20:13AM

Solr Fields

accelerated_reader_point_value
0
accelerated_reader_reading_level
0
author
Bonnaffons, Amy
author_display
Bonnaffons, Amy
display_description
For fans of George Saunders and Karen Russell, an "amazing, wildly inventive" collection of stories that straddles the line between the real and the fantastical (Kevin Wilson).
In The Wrong Heaven, anything is possible: bodies can transform, inanimate objects come to life, angels appear and disappear.
Bonnaffons draws us into a delightfully strange universe, in which her conflicted characters seek to solve their sexual and spiritual dilemmas in all the wrong places. The title story's heroine reckons with grief while arguing with loquacious Jesus and Mary lawn ornaments that come to life when she plugs them in. In Horse, we enter a world in which women transform themselves into animals through a series of medical injections. In Alternate, a young woman convinces herself that all she needs to revive a stagnant relationship is the perfect poster of the Dalai Lama.
While some of the worlds to which Bonnaffons transports us are more recognizable than others, all of them uncover the mysteries beneath the mundane surfaces of our lives. Enormously funny, boldly inventive, and as provocative as they are deeply affecting, these stories lay bare the heart of our deepest longings.
Including the story Horse, as heard on This American Life.
format_aurora
eBook
format_category_aurora
eBook
id
b427c091-373c-bd9a-6b63-6d697d9db864
isbn
9780316516204
last_indexed
2023-09-30T09:20:13.302Z
lexile_score
-1
literary_form
Fiction
literary_form_full
Fiction
Short Stories
primary_isbn
9780316516204
publishDate
2018
publisher
Little, Brown and Company
recordtype
grouped_work
title_display
The Wrong Heaven
title_full
The Wrong Heaven
title_short
The Wrong Heaven
topic_facet
Fiction
Humor (Fiction)
Literature
Short Stories

Solr Details Tables

item_details

Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent URLDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocation
overdrive:48ff0c7f-b661-4865-b0ee-7ff1e1e6e9d3-1Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook1falsetrueOverDriveAvailable Online

record_details

Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical DescriptionAbridged
overdrive:48ff0c7f-b661-4865-b0ee-7ff1e1e6e9d3eBookeBookEnglishLittle, Brown and Company2018

scoping_details_aurora

Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
overdrive:48ff0c7f-b661-4865-b0ee-7ff1e1e6e9d3-1Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse