When breath becomes air

Book Cover
Average Rating
5 star
 
(1)
4 star
 
(1)
3 star
 
(0)
2 star
 
(0)
1 star
 
(0)
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Language:
English
Description
"For readers of Atul Gawande, Andrew Solomon, and Anne Lamott, a profoundly moving, exquisitely observed memoir by a young neurosurgeon faced with a terminal cancer diagnosis who attempts to answer the question What makes a life worth living? At the age of thirty-six, on the verge of completing a decade's worth of training as a neurosurgeon, Paul Kalanithi was diagnosed with stage IV lung cancer. One day he was a doctor treating the dying, and the next he was a patient struggling to live. And just like that, the future he and his wife had imagined evaporated. When Breath Becomes Air chronicles Kalanithi's transformation from a naive medical student "possessed," as he wrote, "by the question of what, given that all organisms die, makes a virtuous and meaningful life" into a neurosurgeon at Stanford working in the brain, the most critical place for human identity, and finally into a patient and new father confronting his own mortality. What makes life worth living in the face of death? What do you do when the future, no longer a ladder toward your goals in life, flattens out into a perpetual present? What does it mean to have a child, to nurture a new life as another fades away? These are some of the questions Kalanithi wrestles with in this profoundly moving, exquisitely observed memoir. Paul Kalanithi died in March 2015, while working on this book, yet his words live on as a guide and a gift to us all. "I began to realize that coming face to face with my own mortality, in a sense, had changed nothing and everything," he wrote. "Seven words from Samuel Beckett began to repeat in my head: 'I can't go on. I'll go on.'" When Breath Becomes Air is an unforgettable, life-affirming reflection on the challenge of facing death and on the relationship between doctor and patient, from a brilliant writer who became both. "--
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Copies In Prospector
Loading Prospector Copies...
More Details
ISBN:
9780812988406
9780812988413
9780399566196
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID758bce50-4a2c-724d-6e19-e770dabc5f3f
Grouping Titlewhen breath becomes air
Grouping Authorpaul kalanithi
Grouping Categorybook
Grouping LanguageEnglish (eng)
Last Grouping Update2020-10-20 03:51:56AM
Last Indexed2020-10-20 05:01:54AM
Novelist Primary ISBN9780399566189

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_point_value0
accelerated_reader_reading_level0
authorKalanithi, Paul,
author_displayKalanithi, Paul
available_at_auroraMission Viejo
Tallyn's Reach
detailed_location_auroraCentral
Mission Viejo
Tallyn's Reach
display_description"For readers of Atul Gawande, Andrew Solomon, and Anne Lamott, a profoundly moving, exquisitely observed memoir by a young neurosurgeon faced with a terminal cancer diagnosis who attempts to answer the question What makes a life worth living? At the age of thirty-six, on the verge of completing a decade's worth of training as a neurosurgeon, Paul Kalanithi was diagnosed with stage IV lung cancer. One day he was a doctor treating the dying, and the next he was a patient struggling to live. And just like that, the future he and his wife had imagined evaporated. When Breath Becomes Air chronicles Kalanithi's transformation from a naive medical student "possessed," as he wrote, "by the question of what, given that all organisms die, makes a virtuous and meaningful life" into a neurosurgeon at Stanford working in the brain, the most critical place for human identity, and finally into a patient and new father confronting his own mortality. What makes life worth living in the face of death? What do you do when the future, no longer a ladder toward your goals in life, flattens out into a perpetual present? What does it mean to have a child, to nurture a new life as another fades away? These are some of the questions Kalanithi wrestles with in this profoundly moving, exquisitely observed memoir. Paul Kalanithi died in March 2015, while working on this book, yet his words live on as a guide and a gift to us all. "I began to realize that coming face to face with my own mortality, in a sense, had changed nothing and everything," he wrote. "Seven words from Samuel Beckett began to repeat in my head: 'I can't go on. I'll go on.'" When Breath Becomes Air is an unforgettable, life-affirming reflection on the challenge of facing death and on the relationship between doctor and patient, from a brilliant writer who became both. "--
format_auroraBook
eAudiobook
eBook
format_category_auroraAudio Books
Books
eBook
id758bce50-4a2c-724d-6e19-e770dabc5f3f
isbn9780399566196
9780812988406
9780812988413
item_details
Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent FileeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocationSub-location
overdrive:3fa2b0ac-6949-4be7-9085-49a1fa1cdc13-1Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeAudiobookAudio Books2falsetrueOverDriveOverDrive MP3 Audiobook, OverDrive ListenChecked Out
overdrive:3bf555e1-8c58-4685-8224-9c4bcd1270d0-1Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook3falsetrueOverDriveAdobe EPUB eBook, OverDrive ReadChecked Out
ils:.b17835744.i23256953Tallyn's Reach616.99 Kal1falsefalseAvailableAug 15, 2020tlrnf
ils:.b17835744.i2325693xCentral616.99 Kal1falsefalseDue Oct 27, 2020Mar 04, 2020cennf
ils:.b17835744.i23256965Central616.99 Kal1falsefalseDue Oct 27, 2020Jun 04, 2020cennf
ils:.b17835744.i23218964Mission Viejo616.99 Kal1falsefalseAvailableJan 11, 2020mvlnf
itype_auroraBook
last_indexed2020-10-20T11:01:54.284Z
lexile_score-1
literary_formNon Fiction
literary_form_fullNon Fiction
local_callnumber_aurora616.99 Kal
owning_library_auroraAurora Public Library
owning_location_auroraCentral
Mission Viejo
Tallyn's Reach
primary_isbn9780812988406
publishDate2016
record_details
Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical Description
overdrive:3fa2b0ac-6949-4be7-9085-49a1fa1cdc13eAudiobookAudio BooksEnglishPenguin Random House Audio Publishing Group2016
overdrive:3bf555e1-8c58-4685-8224-9c4bcd1270d0eBookeBookEnglishRandom House Publishing Group2016
ils:.b17835744BookBooksFirst edition.EnglishRandom House, [2016]xix, 228 pages ; 20 cm.
recordtypegrouped_work
scoping_details_aurora
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
overdrive:3fa2b0ac-6949-4be7-9085-49a1fa1cdc13-1Checked OutChecked Outfalsefalsetruefalsefalsefalse
overdrive:3bf555e1-8c58-4685-8224-9c4bcd1270d0-1Checked OutChecked Outfalsefalsetruefalsefalsefalse
ils:.b17835744.i23256953On ShelfAvailablefalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue0, 1, 3, 20, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 11
ils:.b17835744.i2325693xChecked OutChecked Outfalsefalsetruefalsefalsetrue0, 1, 3, 4, 20, 5, 6, 7, 8, 11
ils:.b17835744.i23256965Checked OutChecked Outfalsefalsetruefalsefalsetrue0, 1, 3, 4, 20, 5, 6, 7, 8, 11
ils:.b17835744.i23218964On ShelfAvailablefalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue0, 1, 3, 20, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 11
subject_facetKalanithi, Paul -- Health
Lungs -- Cancer -- Patients -- United States -- Biography
Married people -- Biography
Neurosurgeons -- Biography
title_displayWhen breath becomes air
title_fullWhen Breath Becomes Air
When breath becomes air / Paul Kalanithi ; foreword by Abraham Verghese
title_shortWhen breath becomes air
topic_facetBiography & Autobiography
Cancer
Health
Kalanithi, Paul
Lungs
Married people
Neurosurgeons
Nonfiction
Patients
Philosophy
Sociology