Whale Talk

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Language:
English
Description

"A truly exceptional book."—Washington Post

There's bad news and good news about the Cutter High School swim team. The bad news is that they don't have a pool. The good news is that only one of them can swim anyway. Bestselling author Chris Crutcher's controversial and acclaimed novel follows a group of outcasts as they take on inequality and injustice in their high school.

"Crutcher's superior gifts as a storyteller and his background as a working therapist combine to make magic in Whale Talk. The thread of truth in his fiction reminds us that heroes can come in any shape, color, ability or size, and friendship can bridge nearly any divide."—Washington Post

T.J. Jones hates the blatant preferential treatment jocks receive at his high school, and the reverence paid to the varsity lettermen. When he sees a member of the wrestling team threatening an underclassman, T.J. decides he's had enough. He recruits some of the biggest misfits at Cutter High to form a swim team. They may not have very much talent, but the All-Night Mermen prove to be way more than T.J. anticipated. As the unlikely athletes move closer to their goal, these new friends might learn that the journey is worth more than the reward. For fans of Andrew Smith and Marieke Nijkamp.

"Crutcher offers an unusual yet resonant mixture of black comedy and tragedy that lays bare the superficiality of the high-school scene. The book's shocking climax will force readers to re-examine their own values and may cause them to alter their perception of individuals pegged as 'losers.'"—Publishers Weekly

An American Library Association Best Book for Young AdultsNew York Public Library Books for the Teen Age

Also in This Series
More Like This
More Copies In Prospector
Loading Prospector Copies...
More Details
ISBN:
9780061968532
9780807217788
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID4ee3501d-4a44-9b01-db1c-549cea554d81
Grouping Titlewhale talk
Grouping Authorchris crutcher
Grouping Categorybook
Grouping LanguageEnglish (eng)
Last Grouping Update2020-10-22 03:51:55AM
Last Indexed2020-10-22 05:01:28AM
Novelist Primary ISBNnone

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_point_value0
accelerated_reader_reading_level0
auth_author2Corrigan, Brian.
authorChris Crutcher
author2-roleCorrigan, Brian.
hoopla digital.
author_displayCrutcher, Chris
available_at_auroraCentral
detailed_location_auroraCentral
display_description

"A truly exceptional book."—Washington Post

There's bad news and good news about the Cutter High School swim team. The bad news is that they don't have a pool. The good news is that only one of them can swim anyway. Bestselling author Chris Crutcher's controversial and acclaimed novel follows a group of outcasts as they take on inequality and injustice in their high school.

"Crutcher's superior gifts as a storyteller and his background as a working therapist combine to make magic in Whale Talk. The thread of truth in his fiction reminds us that heroes can come in any shape, color, ability or size, and friendship can bridge nearly any divide."—Washington Post

T.J. Jones hates the blatant preferential treatment jocks receive at his high school, and the reverence paid to the varsity lettermen. When he sees a member of the wrestling team threatening an underclassman, T.J. decides he's had enough. He recruits some of the biggest misfits at Cutter High to form a swim team. They may not have very much talent, but the All-Night Mermen prove to be way more than T.J. anticipated. As the unlikely athletes move closer to their goal, these new friends might learn that the journey is worth more than the reward. For fans of Andrew Smith and Marieke Nijkamp.

"Crutcher offers an unusual yet resonant mixture of black comedy and tragedy that lays bare the superficiality of the high-school scene. The book's shocking climax will force readers to re-examine their own values and may cause them to alter their perception of individuals pegged as 'losers.'"—Publishers Weekly

An American Library Association Best Book for Young Adults
New York Public Library Books for the Teen Age

format_auroraBook on CD
eBook
format_category_auroraAudio Books
eBook
id4ee3501d-4a44-9b01-db1c-549cea554d81
isbn9780061968532
9780807217788
item_details
Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent FileeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocationSub-location
overdrive:f0eb0cca-27d3-4a1f-b41b-db23d6c995b3-1Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook1falsetrueOverDriveAdobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive ReadAvailable Online
ils:.b14840911.i18611114CentralCOMPACT DISC YA Crutcher, C.1falsefalseAvailableOct 10, 2018cenav
hoopla:MWT13097730Online Hoopla CollectionOnline HooplaeBookeBook1falsetruehooplahttps://www.hoopladigital.com/title/13097730?utm_source=MARCAvailable Online
itype_auroraAudiobook CD
last_indexed2020-10-22T11:01:28.78Z
lexile_score-1
literary_formFiction
literary_form_fullFiction
local_callnumber_auroraCOMPACT DISC YA Crutcher, C.
owning_library_auroraAurora Public Library
owning_location_auroraCentral
primary_isbn9780061968532
publishDate2003
2009
record_details
Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical Description
overdrive:f0eb0cca-27d3-4a1f-b41b-db23d6c995b3eBookeBookEnglishGreenwillow Books2009
ils:.b14840911Book on CDAudio BooksEnglishListening Library, p2003.6 sound discs (ca. 72 min. ea.) : digital ; 4 3/4 in.
hoopla:MWT13097730eBookeBookEnglishHarper Collins Publishers, 2009.1 online resource
recordtypegrouped_work
scoping_details_aurora
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
overdrive:f0eb0cca-27d3-4a1f-b41b-db23d6c995b3-1Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse
ils:.b14840911.i18611114On ShelfAvailablefalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue0, 1, 3, 20, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 11
hoopla:MWT13097730Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruefalsefalsefalsefalse
subject_facetAdoption
Adoption -- Fiction
DIGITAL COMPACT DISC
Electronic books
High schools
High schools -- Fiction
Racially mixed people
Racially mixed people -- Fiction
Schools
Schools -- Fiction
Sports
Sports -- Fiction
Sports stories -- Young adult literature
Swimming
Swimming -- Fiction
title_displayWhale Talk
title_fullWhale Talk
Whale talk / Chris Crutcher
Whale talk [electronic resource] / Chris Crutcher
title_shortWhale Talk
topic_facetAdoption
Electronic books
High schools
Racially mixed people
Schools
Sports
Sports stories
Swimming
Young Adult Fiction
Young Adult Literature