The Romanov empress: a novel of Tsarina Maria Feodorovna

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
2018.
Language:
English
Description
"For readers of Philippa Gregory and Alison Weir comes a dramatic novel of the beloved Empress Maria, the Danish girl who became the mother of the last Russian tsar. Even from behind the throne, a woman can rule. Narrated by the mother of Russia's lasttsar, this vivid, historically authentic novel brings to life the courageous story of Maria Feodorovna, one of Imperial Russia's most compelling women, who witnessed the splendor and tragic downfall of the Romanovs as she fought to save her dynasty in itsfinal years. Barely nineteen, Minnie knows that her station in life as a Danish princess is to leave her family and enter into a royal marriage--as her older sister Alix has done, moving to England to wed Queen Victoria's eldest son. The winds of fortune bring Minnie to Russia, where she marries the Romanov heir, Alexander, and once he ascends the throne, becomes empress. When resistance to his reign strikes at the heart of her family and the tsar sets out to crush all who oppose him, Minnie--now calledMaria--must tread a perilous path of compromise in a country she has come to love. Her husband's death leaves their son Nicholas as the inexperienced ruler of a deeply divided and crumbling empire. Determined to guide him to reforms that will bring Russia into the modern age, Maria faces implacable opposition from Nicholas's strong-willed wife, Alexandra, whose fervor has led her into a disturbing relationship with a mystic named Rasputin. As the unstoppable wave of revolution rises anew to engulf Russia, Maria will face her most dangerous challenge and her greatest heartache. From the opulent palaces of St. Petersburg and the intrigue-laced salons of the aristocracy to the World War I battlefields and the bloodied countryside occupied by the Bolsheviks, C. W. Gortner sweeps us into the anarchic fall of an empire and the complex, bold heart of the woman who tried to save it"--
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Copies In Prospector
Loading Prospector Copies...
More Details
ISBN:
9780425286166
9780425286173
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID42b19a8e-f2e6-cf1d-c1fe-357117233206
Grouping Titleromanov empress
Grouping Authorc w gortner
Grouping Categorybook
Grouping LanguageEnglish (eng)
Last Grouping Update2020-11-29 04:00:27AM
Last Indexed2020-11-29 05:15:22AM
Novelist Primary ISBN9780425286166

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_point_value0
accelerated_reader_reading_level0
authorC. W. Gortner
author_displayGortner, C. W
available_at_auroraCentral
Hoffman
Mission Viejo
Tallyn's Reach
detailed_location_auroraCentral
Hoffman Heights
Mission Viejo
Tallyn's Reach
display_description"For readers of Philippa Gregory and Alison Weir comes a dramatic novel of the beloved Empress Maria, the Danish girl who became the mother of the last Russian tsar. Even from behind the throne, a woman can rule. Narrated by the mother of Russia's lasttsar, this vivid, historically authentic novel brings to life the courageous story of Maria Feodorovna, one of Imperial Russia's most compelling women, who witnessed the splendor and tragic downfall of the Romanovs as she fought to save her dynasty in itsfinal years. Barely nineteen, Minnie knows that her station in life as a Danish princess is to leave her family and enter into a royal marriage--as her older sister Alix has done, moving to England to wed Queen Victoria's eldest son. The winds of fortune bring Minnie to Russia, where she marries the Romanov heir, Alexander, and once he ascends the throne, becomes empress. When resistance to his reign strikes at the heart of her family and the tsar sets out to crush all who oppose him, Minnie--now calledMaria--must tread a perilous path of compromise in a country she has come to love. Her husband's death leaves their son Nicholas as the inexperienced ruler of a deeply divided and crumbling empire. Determined to guide him to reforms that will bring Russia into the modern age, Maria faces implacable opposition from Nicholas's strong-willed wife, Alexandra, whose fervor has led her into a disturbing relationship with a mystic named Rasputin. As the unstoppable wave of revolution rises anew to engulf Russia, Maria will face her most dangerous challenge and her greatest heartache. From the opulent palaces of St. Petersburg and the intrigue-laced salons of the aristocracy to the World War I battlefields and the bloodied countryside occupied by the Bolsheviks, C. W. Gortner sweeps us into the anarchic fall of an empire and the complex, bold heart of the woman who tried to save it"--
format_auroraBook
eBook
format_category_auroraBooks
eBook
id42b19a8e-f2e6-cf1d-c1fe-357117233206
isbn9780425286166
9780425286173
item_details
Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent FileeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocationSub-location
ils:.b18529227.i24217505Hoffman HeightsGortner, C.1falsefalseAvailableOct 18, 2019hoffi
ils:.b18529227.i24217530CentralGortner, C.1falsefalseAvailableNov 08, 2018cenfi
ils:.b18529227.i24217529Tallyn's ReachGortner, C.1falsefalseAvailableJun 03, 2020tlrfi
ils:.b18529227.i24217517Mission ViejoGortner, C.1falsefalseAvailableSep 21, 2019mvlfi
overdrive:1b35fe30-f1f1-47ab-a5b7-4556ac00b0a4-1Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook1falsetrueOverDriveAdobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive ReadAvailable Online
itype_auroraBook
last_indexed2020-11-29T12:15:22.752Z
lexile_score-1
literary_formFiction
literary_form_fullFiction
Novels
local_callnumber_auroraGortner, C.
owning_library_auroraAurora Public Library
owning_location_auroraCentral
Hoffman
Mission Viejo
Tallyn's Reach
primary_isbn9780425286166
publishDate2018
record_details
Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical Description
ils:.b18529227BookBooksEnglishBallantine, 2018.1 volume (unpaged) : illustration, map ; 24 cm.
overdrive:1b35fe30-f1f1-47ab-a5b7-4556ac00b0a4eBookeBookEnglishRandom House Publishing Group2018
recordtypegrouped_work
scoping_details_aurora
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
ils:.b18529227.i24217505On ShelfAvailablefalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue0, 1, 3, 20, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 11
ils:.b18529227.i24217530On ShelfAvailablefalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue0, 1, 3, 4, 20, 5, 6, 7, 8, 11
ils:.b18529227.i24217529On ShelfAvailablefalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue0, 1, 3, 4, 20, 5, 6, 7, 8, 11
ils:.b18529227.i24217517On ShelfAvailablefalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue0, 1, 3, 4, 20, 5, 6, 7, 8, 11
overdrive:1b35fe30-f1f1-47ab-a5b7-4556ac00b0a4-1Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse
subject_facetEmpresses -- Russia -- Fiction
Mari͡a eodorovna, -- Empress, consort of Paul I, Emperor of Russia, -- 1759-1828 -- Fiction
Russia -- History -- Paul I, 1796-1801 -- Fiction
title_displayThe Romanov empress : a novel of Tsarina Maria Feodorovna
title_fullThe Romanov Empress A Novel of Tsarina Maria Feodorovna
The Romanov empress : a novel of Tsarina Maria Feodorovna / C.W. Gortner
title_shortThe Romanov empress
title_suba novel of Tsarina Maria Feodorovna
topic_facetEmpresses
Fiction
Historical Fiction
History
Literature
Mari͡a eodorovna