On Friday March 1, we will be migrating to our new catalog Vega Discover. There should be no disruption to service. After March 1, this Pika catalog will be unavailable. To learn more, please visit our FAQ page.

The Romanov empress: a novel of Tsarina Maria Feodorovna

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
2018
Language:
English
Description
"For readers of Philippa Gregory and Alison Weir comes a dramatic novel of the beloved Empress Maria, the Danish girl who became the mother of the last Russian tsar. Even from behind the throne, a woman can rule. Narrated by the mother of Russia's lasttsar, this vivid, historically authentic novel brings to life the courageous story of Maria Feodorovna, one of Imperial Russia's most compelling women, who witnessed the splendor and tragic downfall of the Romanovs as she fought to save her dynasty in itsfinal years. Barely nineteen, Minnie knows that her station in life as a Danish princess is to leave her family and enter into a royal marriage--as her older sister Alix has done, moving to England to wed Queen Victoria's eldest son. The winds of fortune bring Minnie to Russia, where she marries the Romanov heir, Alexander, and once he ascends the throne, becomes empress. When resistance to his reign strikes at the heart of her family and the tsar sets out to crush all who oppose him, Minnie--now calledMaria--must tread a perilous path of compromise in a country she has come to love. Her husband's death leaves their son Nicholas as the inexperienced ruler of a deeply divided and crumbling empire. Determined to guide him to reforms that will bring Russia into the modern age, Maria faces implacable opposition from Nicholas's strong-willed wife, Alexandra, whose fervor has led her into a disturbing relationship with a mystic named Rasputin. As the unstoppable wave of revolution rises anew to engulf Russia, Maria will face her most dangerous challenge and her greatest heartache. From the opulent palaces of St. Petersburg and the intrigue-laced salons of the aristocracy to the World War I battlefields and the bloodied countryside occupied by the Bolsheviks, C. W. Gortner sweeps us into the anarchic fall of an empire and the complex, bold heart of the woman who tried to save it"--
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Copies In Prospector
Loading Prospector Copies...
More Details
ISBN:
9780425286166
9780425286173
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID42b19a8e-f2e6-cf1d-c1fe-357117233206
Grouping Titleromanov empress
Grouping Authorc w gortner
Grouping Categorybook
Grouping LanguageEnglish (eng)
Last Grouping Update2024-02-26 03:40:25AM
Last Indexed2024-02-26 03:55:30AM

Solr Fields

accelerated_reader_point_value
0
accelerated_reader_reading_level
0
author
Gortner, C. W
author_display
Gortner, C. W
available_at_aurora
Central
detailed_location_aurora
Central Fiction
Mission Viejo Fiction
display_description
"For readers of Philippa Gregory and Alison Weir comes a dramatic novel of the beloved Empress Maria, the Danish girl who became the mother of the last Russian tsar. Even from behind the throne, a woman can rule. Narrated by the mother of Russia's lasttsar, this vivid, historically authentic novel brings to life the courageous story of Maria Feodorovna, one of Imperial Russia's most compelling women, who witnessed the splendor and tragic downfall of the Romanovs as she fought to save her dynasty in itsfinal years. Barely nineteen, Minnie knows that her station in life as a Danish princess is to leave her family and enter into a royal marriage--as her older sister Alix has done, moving to England to wed Queen Victoria's eldest son. The winds of fortune bring Minnie to Russia, where she marries the Romanov heir, Alexander, and once he ascends the throne, becomes empress. When resistance to his reign strikes at the heart of her family and the tsar sets out to crush all who oppose him, Minnie--now calledMaria--must tread a perilous path of compromise in a country she has come to love. Her husband's death leaves their son Nicholas as the inexperienced ruler of a deeply divided and crumbling empire. Determined to guide him to reforms that will bring Russia into the modern age, Maria faces implacable opposition from Nicholas's strong-willed wife, Alexandra, whose fervor has led her into a disturbing relationship with a mystic named Rasputin. As the unstoppable wave of revolution rises anew to engulf Russia, Maria will face her most dangerous challenge and her greatest heartache. From the opulent palaces of St. Petersburg and the intrigue-laced salons of the aristocracy to the World War I battlefields and the bloodied countryside occupied by the Bolsheviks, C. W. Gortner sweeps us into the anarchic fall of an empire and the complex, bold heart of the woman who tried to save it"--
format_aurora
Book
eBook
format_category_aurora
Books
eBook
id
42b19a8e-f2e6-cf1d-c1fe-357117233206
isbn
9780425286166
9780425286173
itype_aurora
Book
last_indexed
2024-02-26T10:55:30.628Z
lexile_score
-1
literary_form
Fiction
literary_form_full
Fiction
Novels
local_callnumber_aurora
Gortner, C.
owning_library_aurora
Aurora Public Library
owning_location_aurora
Central
Mission Viejo
primary_isbn
9780425286166
publishDate
2018
publisher
Ballantine
Random House Publishing Group
recordtype
grouped_work
subject_facet
Empresses -- Russia -- Fiction
Mari︠a︡ eodorovna, -- Empress, consort of Paul I, Emperor of Russia, -- 1759-1828 -- Fiction
Russia -- History -- Paul I, 1796-1801 -- Fiction
title_display
The Romanov empress : a novel of Tsarina Maria Feodorovna
title_full
The Romanov Empress A Novel of Tsarina Maria Feodorovna
The Romanov empress : a novel of Tsarina Maria Feodorovna / C.W. Gortner
title_short
The Romanov empress
title_sub
a novel of Tsarina Maria Feodorovna
topic_facet
Empresses
Fiction
Historical Fiction
History
Literature
Mari︠a︡ eodorovna

Solr Details Tables

item_details

Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent URLDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocation
ils:.b18529227.i24217517Mission Viejo FictionGortner, C.1falsefalseDue Mar 14, 2024Dec 10, 2021mvlfi
ils:.b18529227.i24217530Central FictionGortner, C.1falsefalseAvailableSep 15, 2023cenfi
overdrive:1b35fe30-f1f1-47ab-a5b7-4556ac00b0a4-1Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook1falsetrueOverDriveAvailable Online

record_details

Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical DescriptionAbridged
ils:.b18529227BookBooksEnglishBallantine20181 volume (unpaged) : illustration, map ; 24 cm.
overdrive:1b35fe30-f1f1-47ab-a5b7-4556ac00b0a4eBookeBookEnglishRandom House Publishing Group2018

scoping_details_aurora

Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
ils:.b18529227.i24217517Checked OutChecked Outfalsefalsetruefalsefalsetrue0, 1, 3, 20, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 11
ils:.b18529227.i24217530On ShelfAvailablefalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue0, 1, 3, 4, 20, 5, 6, 7, 8, 11
overdrive:1b35fe30-f1f1-47ab-a5b7-4556ac00b0a4-1Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse