Astoria: John Jacob Astor and Thomas Jefferson's lost Pacific empire : a story of wealth, ambition, and survival

Book Cover
Average Rating
5 star
 
(0)
4 star
 
(1)
3 star
 
(0)
2 star
 
(0)
1 star
 
(0)
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Language:
English
Description
In the tradition of The Lost City of Z and Skeleton in the Zahara, Astoria is the thrilling, true-adventure tale of the 1810 Astor Expedition, an epic, now forgotten, three-year journey to forge an American empire on the Pacific Coast. Peter Stark offers a harrowing saga in which a band of explorers battled nature, starvation, and madness to establish the first American settlement in the Pacific Northwest and opened up what would become the Oregon trail, permanently altering the nation's landscape and its global standing. Six years after Lewis and Clark's began their journey to the Pacific Northwest, two of the Eastern establishment's leading figures, John Jacob Astor and Thomas Jefferson, turned their sights to founding a colony akin to Jamestown on the West Coast and transforming the nation into a Pacific trading power. Author and correspondent for Outside magazine Peter Stark recreates this pivotal moment in American history for the first time for modern readers, drawing on original source material to tell the amazing true story of the Astor Expedition. Unfolding over the course of three years, from 1810 to 1813, Astoria is a tale of high adventure and incredible hardship in the wilderness and at sea. Of the more than one hundred-forty members of the two advance parties that reached the West Coast{u2014}one crossing the Rockies, the other rounding Cape Horn{u2014}nearly half perished by violence. Others went mad. Within one year, the expedition successfully established Fort Astoria, a trading post on the Columbia River. Though the colony would be short-lived, it opened provincial American eyes to the potential of the Western coast and its founders helped blaze the Oregon Trail.
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Copies In Prospector
Loading Prospector Copies...
More Details
ISBN:
9780062218292
9780062308771
9780062218315
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID34a020cf-9321-e1d9-e670-fc2f07894e08
Grouping Titleastoria john jacob astor and thomas jeffersons lost pacific empire a story of wealth ambition and survival
Grouping Authorpeter stark
Grouping Categorybook
Grouping LanguageEnglish (eng)
Last Grouping Update2020-10-27 22:00:01PM
Last Indexed2020-10-27 05:04:14AM
Novelist Primary ISBNnone

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_point_value0
accelerated_reader_reading_level0
auth_author2Narrator.
authorStark, Peter,
author2-roleNarrator.
hoopla digital.
author_displayStark, Peter
available_at_auroraCentral
detailed_location_auroraCentral
display_descriptionIn the tradition of The Lost City of Z and Skeleton in the Zahara, Astoria is the thrilling, true-adventure tale of the 1810 Astor Expedition, an epic, now forgotten, three-year journey to forge an American empire on the Pacific Coast. Peter Stark offers a harrowing saga in which a band of explorers battled nature, starvation, and madness to establish the first American settlement in the Pacific Northwest and opened up what would become the Oregon trail, permanently altering the nation's landscape and its global standing. Six years after Lewis and Clark's began their journey to the Pacific Northwest, two of the Eastern establishment's leading figures, John Jacob Astor and Thomas Jefferson, turned their sights to founding a colony akin to Jamestown on the West Coast and transforming the nation into a Pacific trading power. Author and correspondent for Outside magazine Peter Stark recreates this pivotal moment in American history for the first time for modern readers, drawing on original source material to tell the amazing true story of the Astor Expedition. Unfolding over the course of three years, from 1810 to 1813, Astoria is a tale of high adventure and incredible hardship in the wilderness and at sea. Of the more than one hundred-forty members of the two advance parties that reached the West Coast{u2014}one crossing the Rockies, the other rounding Cape Horn{u2014}nearly half perished by violence. Others went mad. Within one year, the expedition successfully established Fort Astoria, a trading post on the Columbia River. Though the colony would be short-lived, it opened provincial American eyes to the potential of the Western coast and its founders helped blaze the Oregon Trail.
format_auroraBook
eAudiobook
eBook
format_category_auroraAudio Books
Books
eBook
id34a020cf-9321-e1d9-e670-fc2f07894e08
isbn9780062218292
9780062218315
9780062308771
item_details
Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent FileeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocationSub-location
overdrive:17943d06-b2e9-4daf-a20d-32203a128314-1Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook1falsetrueOverDriveAdobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive ReadAvailable Online
ils:.b1716493x.i22563751Central979.5 Sta1falsefalseAvailableSep 13, 2020cennf
hoopla:MWT12112215Online Hoopla CollectionOnline HooplaeBookeBook1falsetruehooplahttps://www.hoopladigital.com/title/12112215Available Online
hoopla:MWT11586898Online Hoopla CollectionOnline HooplaeAudiobookAudio Books1falsetruehooplahttps://www.hoopladigital.com/title/11586898?utm_source=MARCAvailable Online
itype_auroraBook
last_indexed2020-10-27T11:04:14.38Z
lexile_score-1
literary_formNon Fiction
literary_form_fullNon Fiction
local_callnumber_aurora979.5 Sta
owning_library_auroraAurora Public Library
owning_location_auroraCentral
primary_isbn9780062218292
publishDate2014
record_details
Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical Description
overdrive:17943d06-b2e9-4daf-a20d-32203a128314eBookeBookEnglishEcco2014
ils:.b1716493xBookBooksFirst edition.EnglishEcco, an imprint of HarperCollinsPublishers, c2014.qxv, 366 pages, 16 unnumbered pages of plates : illustrations (some color), maps, portraits, photos. ; 24 cm.
hoopla:MWT12112215eBookeBookEnglishHarper Collins Publishers, 2014.1 online resource
hoopla:MWT11586898eAudiobookAudio BooksUnabridged.EnglishHarperAudio, 2014.1 online resource (1 audio file (10hr., 55 min.)) : digital.
recordtypegrouped_work
scoping_details_aurora
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
overdrive:17943d06-b2e9-4daf-a20d-32203a128314-1Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse
ils:.b1716493x.i22563751On ShelfAvailablefalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue0, 1, 3, 4, 20, 5, 6, 7, 8, 11
hoopla:MWT12112215Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruefalsefalsefalsefalse
hoopla:MWT11586898Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruefalsefalsefalsefalse
subject_facetAstor, John Jacob, -- 1763-1848
Astoria (Or.) -- History
Astoria (Or.) -- History -- 19th century
Electronic books
Fur trade -- Columbia River Valley -- History -- 19th century
Jefferson, Thomas, -- 1743-1826
Northwest, Pacific -- Discovery and exploration
Northwest, Pacific -- History
Northwest, Pacific -- History -- 19th century
Overland journeys to the Pacific
Pacific Fur Company
Tonquin (Ship)
Voyages to the Pacific Coast
West (U.S.) -- Discovery and exploration
title_displayAstoria : John Jacob Astor and Thomas Jefferson's lost Pacific empire : a story of wealth, ambition, and survival
title_fullAstoria : John Jacob Astor and Thomas Jefferson's lost Pacific empire : a story of wealth, ambition, and survival / Peter Stark
Astoria : John Jacob Astor and Thomas Jefferson's lost Pacific empire : a story of wealth, ambition, and survival [electronic resource] / Peter Stark
Astoria : John Jacob Astor and Thomas Jefferson's lost Pacific empire: a story of wealth, ambition, and survival [electronic resource] / Peter Stark
Astoria John Jacob Astor and Thomas Jefferson's Lost Pacific Empire: A Story of Wealth, Ambition, and Survival
title_shortAstoria
title_subJohn Jacob Astor and Thomas Jefferson's lost Pacific empire : a story of wealth, ambition, and survival
topic_facetAstor, John Jacob
Discovery and exploration
Electronic books
Fur trade
History
Jefferson, Thomas
Nonfiction
Overland journeys to the Pacific
Sports & Recreations
Voyages to the Pacific Coast