The world's fastest man: the extraordinary life of cyclist Major Taylor, America's first Black sports hero

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
2019.
Language:
English
Description
"In the tradition of The Boys in the Boat and Seabiscuit, a fascinating portrait of a groundbreaking but forgotten figure--the remarkable Major Taylor, the black man who broke racial barriers by becoming the world's fastest and most famous bicyclist at the height of the Jim Crow era. In the 1890s, the nation's promise of equality had failed spectacularly. While slavery had ended with the Civil War, the Jim Crow laws still separated blacks from whites, and the excesses of the Gilded Age created an elite upper class. Amidst this world arrived Major Taylor, a young black man who wanted to compete in the nation's most popular and mostly white man's sport, cycling. Birdie Munger, a white cyclist who once was the world's fastest man, declared that he could help turn the young black athlete into a champion. Twelve years before boxer Jack Johnson and fifty years before baseball player Jackie Robinson, Taylor faced racism at nearly every turn--especially by whites who feared he would disprove their stereotypes of blacks. In The World's Fastest Man, years in the writing, investigative journalist Michael Kranish reveals new information about Major Taylor based on a rare interview with his daughter and other never-before-uncovered details from Taylor's life. Kranish shows how Taylor indeed became a world champion, traveled the world, was the toast of Paris, and was one of the most chronicled black men of his day. From a moment in time just before the arrival of the automobile when bicycles were king, the populace was booming with immigrants, and enormous societal changes were about to take place, The World's Fastest Man shines a light on a dramatic moment in American history--the gateway to the twentieth century"--
"In the tradition of The Boys in the Boat and Seabiscuit, a fascinating portrait of a groundbreaking but forgotten figure--the remarkable Major Taylor, the black man who broke racial barriers by becoming the world's fastest and most famous bicyclist at the height of the Jim Crow era"--
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Copies In Prospector
Loading Prospector Copies...
More Details
ISBN:
9781501192593
9781508286400
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID319d4ea4-2951-d045-c322-6e6d4a994a25
Grouping Titleworlds fastest man the extraordinary life of cyclist major taylor americas first black sports hero
Grouping Authormichael kranish
Grouping Categorybook
Grouping LanguageEnglish (eng)
Last Grouping Update2020-10-27 03:52:03AM
Last Indexed2020-10-27 05:04:33AM
Novelist Primary ISBNnone

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_point_value0
accelerated_reader_reading_level0
authorKranish, Michael,
author_displayKranish, Michael
available_at_auroraCentral
detailed_location_auroraCentral
Mission Viejo
display_description"In the tradition of The Boys in the Boat and Seabiscuit, a fascinating portrait of a groundbreaking but forgotten figure--the remarkable Major Taylor, the black man who broke racial barriers by becoming the world's fastest and most famous bicyclist at the height of the Jim Crow era. In the 1890s, the nation's promise of equality had failed spectacularly. While slavery had ended with the Civil War, the Jim Crow laws still separated blacks from whites, and the excesses of the Gilded Age created an elite upper class. Amidst this world arrived Major Taylor, a young black man who wanted to compete in the nation's most popular and mostly white man's sport, cycling. Birdie Munger, a white cyclist who once was the world's fastest man, declared that he could help turn the young black athlete into a champion. Twelve years before boxer Jack Johnson and fifty years before baseball player Jackie Robinson, Taylor faced racism at nearly every turn--especially by whites who feared he would disprove their stereotypes of blacks. In The World's Fastest Man, years in the writing, investigative journalist Michael Kranish reveals new information about Major Taylor based on a rare interview with his daughter and other never-before-uncovered details from Taylor's life. Kranish shows how Taylor indeed became a world champion, traveled the world, was the toast of Paris, and was one of the most chronicled black men of his day. From a moment in time just before the arrival of the automobile when bicycles were king, the populace was booming with immigrants, and enormous societal changes were about to take place, The World's Fastest Man shines a light on a dramatic moment in American history--the gateway to the twentieth century"-- "In the tradition of The Boys in the Boat and Seabiscuit, a fascinating portrait of a groundbreaking but forgotten figure--the remarkable Major Taylor, the black man who broke racial barriers by becoming the world's fastest and most famous bicyclist at the height of the Jim Crow era"--
format_auroraBook
eAudiobook
format_category_auroraAudio Books
Books
eBook
id319d4ea4-2951-d045-c322-6e6d4a994a25
isbn9781501192593
9781508286400
item_details
Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent FileeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocationSub-location
overdrive:fb1628d6-3364-4611-971c-e3c1ae211028-1Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeAudiobookAudio Books1falsetrueOverDriveOverDrive MP3 Audiobook, OverDrive ListenAvailable Online
ils:.b18627985.i24522326Central796.6 Kra1falsefalseAvailableSep 01, 2020cennf
ils:.b18627985.i24522314Mission Viejo796.6 Kra1falsefalseDue Nov 13, 2020Jan 22, 2020mvlnf
itype_auroraBook
last_indexed2020-10-27T11:04:33.973Z
lexile_score-1
literary_formNon Fiction
literary_form_fullNon Fiction
local_callnumber_aurora796.6 Kra
owning_library_auroraAurora Public Library
owning_location_auroraCentral
Mission Viejo
primary_isbn9781501192593
publishDate2019
record_details
Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical Description
overdrive:fb1628d6-3364-4611-971c-e3c1ae211028eAudiobookAudio BooksEnglishSimon & Schuster Audio2019
ils:.b18627985BookBooksFirst Scribner hardcover edition.EnglishScribner, 2019.x, 365 pages : illustrations ; 24 cm.
recordtypegrouped_work
scoping_details_aurora
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
overdrive:fb1628d6-3364-4611-971c-e3c1ae211028-1Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse
ils:.b18627985.i24522326On ShelfAvailablefalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue0, 1, 3, 4, 20, 5, 6, 7, 8, 11
ils:.b18627985.i24522314Checked OutChecked Outfalsefalsetruefalsefalsetrue0, 1, 3, 20, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 11
subject_facetAfrican American cyclists -- Biography
Cyclists -- United States -- Biography
Taylor, Major, -- 1878-1932
title_displayThe world's fastest man : the extraordinary life of cyclist Major Taylor, America's first Black sports hero
title_fullThe World's Fastest Man The Extraordinary Life of Cyclist Major Taylor, America's First Black Sports Hero
The world's fastest man : the extraordinary life of cyclist Major Taylor, America's first Black sports hero / Michael Kranish
title_shortThe world's fastest man
title_subthe extraordinary life of cyclist Major Taylor, America's first Black sports hero
topic_facetAfrican American Nonfiction
African American cyclists
Cyclists
History
Nonfiction
Sports & Recreations
Taylor, Major