The Tender Bar: a memoir

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Language:
English
Description

The New York Times bestseller and one of the 100 Most Notable Books of 2005. In the tradition of This Boy's Life and The Liar's Club, a raucous, poignant, luminously written memoir about a boy striving to become a man, and his romance with a bar.

J.R. Moehringer grew up captivated by a voice. It was the voice of his father, a New York City disc jockey who vanished before J.R. spoke his first word. Sitting on the stoop, pressing an ear to the radio, J.R. would strain to hear in that plummy baritone the secrets of masculinity and identity. Though J.R.'s mother was his world, his rock, he craved something more, something faintly and hauntingly audible only in The Voice. At eight years old, suddenly unable to find The Voice on the radio, J.R. turned in desperation to the bar on the corner, where he found a rousing chorus of new voices. The alphas along the bar—including J.R.'s Uncle Charlie, a Humphrey Bogart look-alike; Colt, a Yogi Bear sound-alike; and Joey D, a softhearted brawler—took J.R. to the beach, to ballgames, and ultimately into their circle. They taught J.R., tended him, and provided a kind of fathering-by-committee. Torn between the stirring example of his mother and the lurid romance of the bar, J.R. tried to forge a self somewhere in the center. But when it was time for J.R. to leave home, the bar became an increasingly seductive sanctuary, a place to return and regroup during his picaresque journeys. Time and again the bar offered shelter from failure, rejection, heartbreak—and eventually from reality.

In the grand tradition of landmark memoirs, THE TENDER BAR is suspenseful, wrenching, and achingly funny. A classic American story of self-invention and escape, of the fierce love between a single mother and an only son, it's also a moving portrait of one boy's struggle to become a man, and an unforgettable depiction of how men remain, at heart, lost boys.

Also in This Series
More Like This
More Copies In Prospector
Loading Prospector Copies...
More Details
Contributors:
Grupper, Adam. Narrator
ISBN:
9780316290647
9781419363023
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID27862933-ea00-4b97-2439-398c938476d0
Grouping Titletender bar
Grouping Authorj r moehringer
Grouping Categorybook
Grouping LanguageEnglish (eng)
Last Grouping Update2020-11-27 03:52:03AM
Last Indexed2020-11-27 05:04:11AM
Novelist Primary ISBNnone

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_point_value0
accelerated_reader_reading_level0
auth_author2Grupper, Adam.
authorJ. R. Moehringer
author2-roleGrupper, Adam.|Narrator
author_displayMoehringer, J. R
available_at_auroraTallyn's Reach
detailed_location_auroraTallyn's Reach
display_description

The New York Times bestseller and one of the 100 Most Notable Books of 2005. In the tradition of This Boy's Life and The Liar's Club, a raucous, poignant, luminously written memoir about a boy striving to become a man, and his romance with a bar.


J.R. Moehringer grew up captivated by a voice. It was the voice of his father, a New York City disc jockey who vanished before J.R. spoke his first word. Sitting on the stoop, pressing an ear to the radio, J.R. would strain to hear in that plummy baritone the secrets of masculinity and identity. Though J.R.'s mother was his world, his rock, he craved something more, something faintly and hauntingly audible only in The Voice. At eight years old, suddenly unable to find The Voice on the radio, J.R. turned in desperation to the bar on the corner, where he found a rousing chorus of new voices. The alphas along the bar—including J.R.'s Uncle Charlie, a Humphrey Bogart look-alike; Colt, a Yogi Bear sound-alike; and Joey D, a softhearted brawler—took J.R. to the beach, to ballgames, and ultimately into their circle. They taught J.R., tended him, and provided a kind of fathering-by-committee. Torn between the stirring example of his mother and the lurid romance of the bar, J.R. tried to forge a self somewhere in the center. But when it was time for J.R. to leave home, the bar became an increasingly seductive sanctuary, a place to return and regroup during his picaresque journeys. Time and again the bar offered shelter from failure, rejection, heartbreak—and eventually from reality.


In the grand tradition of landmark memoirs, THE TENDER BAR is suspenseful, wrenching, and achingly funny. A classic American story of self-invention and escape, of the fierce love between a single mother and an only son, it's also a moving portrait of one boy's struggle to become a man, and an unforgettable depiction of how men remain, at heart, lost boys.

format_auroraBook on CD
eBook
format_category_auroraAudio Books
eBook
id27862933-ea00-4b97-2439-398c938476d0
isbn9780316290647
9781419363023
item_details
Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent FileeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocationSub-location
overdrive:14698997-9d96-4baf-9161-56ebd30d7dc8-1Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook1falsetrueOverDriveAdobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive ReadAvailable Online
ils:.b15472267.i19753081Tallyn's ReachCOMPACT DISC 070.92 Moe1falsefalseAvailableAug 02, 2016tlrav
itype_auroraAudiobook CD
last_indexed2020-11-27T12:04:11.585Z
lexile_score-1
literary_formNon Fiction
literary_form_fullNon Fiction
local_callnumber_auroraCOMPACT DISC 070.92 Moe
owning_library_auroraAurora Public Library
owning_location_auroraTallyn's Reach
primary_isbn9780316290647
publishDate2005
record_details
Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical Description
overdrive:14698997-9d96-4baf-9161-56ebd30d7dc8eBookeBookEnglishHachette Books2005
ils:.b15472267Book on CDAudio BooksEnglishRecorded Books, p2005.13 sound discs (16 hr.) : digital ; 4 3/4 in.
recordtypegrouped_work
scoping_details_aurora
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
overdrive:14698997-9d96-4baf-9161-56ebd30d7dc8-1Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse
ils:.b15472267.i19753081On ShelfAvailablefalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue0, 1, 3, 20, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 11
subject_facetArizona -- Biography
Audiobooks
Bars (Drinking establishments) -- Social aspects -- New York (State) -- Manhasset
Connecticut -- Biography
DIGITAL COMPACT DISC
Journalists -- United States -- Biography
Manhasset (N.Y.) -- Biography
Moehringer, J. R., -- 1964-
title_displayThe Tender Bar A Memoir
title_fullThe Tender Bar A Memoir
The Tender bar : a memoir / by J.R. Moehringer
title_shortThe Tender Bar
title_suba memoir
topic_facetBars (Drinking establishments)
Biography & Autobiography
Journalists
Moehringer, J. R
Nonfiction
Social aspects