The neuroscientist who lost her mind: my tale of madness and recovery

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
2018.
Language:
English
Description
"As a deadly cancer spread inside her brain, leading neuroscientist Barbara Lipska was plunged into madness--only to miraculously survive with her memories intact. In the tradition of My Stroke of Insight and Brain on Fire, this powerful memoir recounts her ordeal and explains its unforgettablelessons about the brain and mind. In January 2015, Barbara Lipska--a leading expert on the neuroscience of mental illness--was diagnosed with melanoma that had spread to her brain. Within months, her frontal lobe, the seat of cognition, began shutting down. She descended intomadness, exhibiting dementia- and schizophrenia-like symptoms that terrified her family and coworkers. But miraculously, just as her doctors figured out what was happening, the immunotherapy they had prescribed began to work. Just eight weeks after her nightmare began, Lipska returned to normal. With one difference: she remembered her brush with madness with exquisite clarity. In The Neuroscientist Who Lost Her Mind, Lipska describes her extraordinary ordeal and its lessons about the mind and brain. She explains how mental illness, brain injury, and age can change our behavior, personality, cognition, and memory. She tells what it is like to experience these changes firsthand. And she reveals what parts of us remain, evenwhen so much else is gone"--
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Copies In Prospector
Loading Prospector Copies...
More Details
ISBN:
9781328787309
9781328787279
9781684412679
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID188d557e-113d-c1a0-7dcc-ebb6d1e7ab93
Grouping Titleneuroscientist who lost her mind my tale of madness and recovery
Grouping Authorbarbara k lipska
Grouping Categorybook
Grouping LanguageEnglish (eng)
Last Grouping Update2020-10-01 03:52:26AM
Last Indexed2020-10-01 05:06:57AM
Novelist Primary ISBNnone

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_point_value0
accelerated_reader_reading_level0
auth_author2McArdle, Elaine,
Powell, Emma,
authorBarbara K. Lipska
author2-roleMcArdle, Elaine,author.
Powell, Emma,narrator.
hoopla digital.
author_displayLipska, Barbara K
available_at_auroraCentral
Tallyn's Reach
detailed_location_auroraCentral
Mission Viejo
Tallyn's Reach
display_description"As a deadly cancer spread inside her brain, leading neuroscientist Barbara Lipska was plunged into madness--only to miraculously survive with her memories intact. In the tradition of My Stroke of Insight and Brain on Fire, this powerful memoir recounts her ordeal and explains its unforgettablelessons about the brain and mind. In January 2015, Barbara Lipska--a leading expert on the neuroscience of mental illness--was diagnosed with melanoma that had spread to her brain. Within months, her frontal lobe, the seat of cognition, began shutting down. She descended intomadness, exhibiting dementia- and schizophrenia-like symptoms that terrified her family and coworkers. But miraculously, just as her doctors figured out what was happening, the immunotherapy they had prescribed began to work. Just eight weeks after her nightmare began, Lipska returned to normal. With one difference: she remembered her brush with madness with exquisite clarity. In The Neuroscientist Who Lost Her Mind, Lipska describes her extraordinary ordeal and its lessons about the mind and brain. She explains how mental illness, brain injury, and age can change our behavior, personality, cognition, and memory. She tells what it is like to experience these changes firsthand. And she reveals what parts of us remain, evenwhen so much else is gone"--
format_auroraBook
eAudiobook
eBook
format_category_auroraAudio Books
Books
eBook
id188d557e-113d-c1a0-7dcc-ebb6d1e7ab93
isbn9781328787279
9781328787309
9781684412679
item_details
Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent FileeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocationSub-location
ils:.b18495758.i24146080Mission Viejo616.99 Lip1falsefalseDue Oct 8, 2020Aug 15, 2018mvlnf
ils:.b18495758.i24146067Central616.99 Lip1falsefalseAvailableOct 07, 2019cennf
ils:.b18495758.i24146079Tallyn's Reach616.99 Lip1falsefalseAvailableJul 20, 2018tlrnf
hoopla:MWT12079255Online Hoopla CollectionOnline HooplaeAudiobookAudio Books1falsetruehooplahttps://www.hoopladigital.com/title/12079255?utm_source=MARCAvailable Online
overdrive:10a7f511-1c1a-4931-a75d-c79b7d3ba7be-1Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook1falsetrueOverDriveAdobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive ReadAvailable Online
itype_auroraBook
last_indexed2020-10-01T11:06:57.453Z
lexile_score-1
literary_formNon Fiction
literary_form_fullNon Fiction
local_callnumber_aurora616.99 Lip
owning_library_auroraAurora Public Library
owning_location_auroraCentral
Mission Viejo
Tallyn's Reach
primary_isbn9781328787309
publishDate2018
record_details
Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical Description
ils:.b18495758BookBooksEnglishHoughton Mifflin Harcourt, 2018.xix, 188 pages ; 24 cm.
hoopla:MWT12079255eAudiobookAudio BooksUnabridged.EnglishHighBridge, 2018.1 online resource (1 audio file (6hr., 55 min.)) : digital.
overdrive:10a7f511-1c1a-4931-a75d-c79b7d3ba7beeBookeBookEnglishHMH Books2018
recordtypegrouped_work
scoping_details_aurora
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
ils:.b18495758.i24146080Checked OutChecked Outfalsefalsetruefalsefalsetrue0, 1, 3, 20, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 11
ils:.b18495758.i24146067On ShelfAvailablefalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue0, 1, 3, 4, 20, 5, 6, 7, 8, 11
ils:.b18495758.i24146079On ShelfAvailablefalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue0, 1, 3, 20, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 11
hoopla:MWT12079255Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruefalsefalsefalsefalse
overdrive:10a7f511-1c1a-4931-a75d-c79b7d3ba7be-1Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse
subject_facetBrain metastasis -- Patients -- Biography
Lipska, Barbara K. -- Health
Melanoma -- Patients -- Biography
Neuroscientists -- Biography
title_displayThe neuroscientist who lost her mind : my tale of madness and recovery
title_fullThe Neuroscientist Who Lost Her Mind My Tale of Madness and Recovery
The neuroscientist who lost her mind : my tale of madness and recovery / Barbara K. Lipska ; with Elaine McArdle
The neuroscientist who lost her mind : my tale of madness and recovery [electronic resource] / Barbara K. Lipska with Elaine McArdle
title_shortThe neuroscientist who lost her mind
title_submy tale of madness and recovery
topic_facetBiography & Autobiography
Brain metastasis
Health
Lipska, Barbara K
Melanoma
Neuroscientists
Nonfiction
Patients